Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway - Enter Now!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Interested in eBIAB, have questions.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-14-2012, 03:23 AM   #1
Schlomo
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 11 Times on 10 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default Interested in eBIAB, have questions.

Hey everyone..

So as it says, im interested in going AG with an eBIAB to accomodate my small apartment. I checked my breaker box and i have 1 breaker at 20A for the kitchen. Does this mean i cant use 2, 2000w elements on seperate plugs? Or is the fact that the kitchen is on one 20A breaker kill this for me..

Im not an electrician, so any help here would be great before i go buy things. I really want to do the 2 element route on separate plugs in my kitchen, but if nothing else works i can use my 240v for the electric range i have, but i dont want to do this if i dont have to.

Insight please?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-14-2012, 09:14 AM   #2
tektonjp
Recipes 

Liked 61 Times on 41 Posts
Likes Given: 54

You need to have the elements plugged into receptacles which are down line from two different 20 amp breakers. Do NOT plug two elements into two different boxes on the same circuit.

"Beer, well respected and rightly consumed, can be a gift of God. It is one of his mysteries, which it was his delight to conceal and the glory of kings to search out."

The Search for God and Guinness by Stephen Mansfield

Old 11-14-2012, 11:26 AM   #3
jeffmeh
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 132 Times on 113 Posts
Likes Given: 18

Yes, only one 2000W element if it is only one breaker. Have you thought about using your stove plus a 2000W element?

Old 11-14-2012, 11:36 AM   #4
Schlomo
Recipes