*Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway - Enter Now!*

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > I screwed up big time!!! I think.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-22-2011, 02:59 PM   #1
ryan0914
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Morris Plains / Morristown, New Jersey
Posts: 288
Liked 5 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default I screwed up big time!!! I think.

So I bought a ranco temp controller 112000-000 which is the 24v version not the 120v one. i was wondering if i can switch it to 120. i saw on the circuit board that there is space right below the space it is in now for the 24v. it ways NC 120 Com. I that the space that would be for 120. would it be as easy as un-soldering the connections it is in now and putting it there. Im hoping it is. Im hoping that some of you out there that are a lot better than i am at electronics can answer this for me.

__________________
ryan0914 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-22-2011, 06:57 PM   #2
ryan0914
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Morris Plains / Morristown, New Jersey
Posts: 288
Liked 5 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

or should i just buy a new one

__________________
ryan0914 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-22-2011, 07:12 PM   #3
samc
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Portland OR
Posts: 5,420
Liked 54 Times on 51 Posts
Likes Given: 29

Default

I'd think that if it were that simple they would sell it with a dip switch inside to change modes and you'd be done with it.

__________________
samc is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-24-2011, 03:15 PM   #4
wilceaser
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
wilceaser's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Southeastern PA
Posts: 227
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 6

Default

As we say in the hood..U be F*&ked.
24v is only for 24v switching
But I am sure somebody here may want it. Post it in the Classified Ads, and minimze your losses.

__________________

Howling Beagle Farmhouse Brewery

Quote:
Originally Posted by SweetSounds View Post
- You can't trigger an SSR with 120 volts - You'll let the smoke out.
wilceaser is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-25-2011, 06:13 PM   #5
Stellrbrewr
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 48
Default

For like $25 you can buy an SSR relay that will take 24v control voltage to a 120v load. Did you call and ask if they'll exchange it?

__________________
Stellrbrewr is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-25-2011, 06:20 PM   #6
ryan0914
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Morris Plains / Morristown, New Jersey
Posts: 288
Liked 5 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

no I didn't call, i got it off ebay and they noted in the fine print that it was a 24v so there really isnt all that much I can do. but i found a buddy that is going to buy it for his all electric setup he's building. So im now trying to find a 2 stage cheap.
does anyone know of a good stage other than ranco?

__________________
ryan0914 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools