HBT 2014 Big Giveaway - 4/10 Re-Draw Winners Posted!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > I know I'm beating a dead horse here, but...




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-12-2012, 01:29 AM   #1
kerklein2
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Austin
Posts: 376
Liked 13 Times on 11 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default I know I'm beating a dead horse here, but...

I wanted to discuss the merits of connecting a spa panel GFI to a 3-wire dryer outlet vs. having a 4-wire outlet installed. I know that the connection to the 3-wire outlet is safe, but I've had an electrician quote $275 to add a new breaker and line and don't really know if it's worth it. Seems pretty damn high to me, so maybe a different electrician might quote lower, but the question remains.

Use the 3-wire, or have an electrician add a new circuit?

P.S.
The one other variable is that he'd put the new outlet outside, so I wouldn't have to run my cable through a window or door for brew day.



__________________
kerklein2 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-13-2012, 02:01 AM   #2
kerklein2
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Austin
Posts: 376
Liked 13 Times on 11 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

Anyone?



__________________
kerklein2 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-13-2012, 02:33 AM   #3
TJTHEBEST
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Arcata, Ca
Posts: 149
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

its a dead horse... which means its already been beaten to death.. do a search

__________________
TJTHEBEST is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-13-2012, 02:37 AM   #4
kerklein2
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Austin
Posts: 376
Liked 13 Times on 11 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

Clearly I've done a search and read a lot about it. Thanks for being so friendly.

Just wanted some discussion about my specific situation.

__________________
kerklein2 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-13-2012, 03:42 AM   #5
grandequeso
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: jacksonville, fl
Posts: 176
Liked 9 Times on 9 Posts
Likes Given: 7

Default

run a straight 240 volt system using the 3 wire system you already have. plug your pumps into a wall outlet. everything properly grounded. no problem.

__________________
grandequeso is online now
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-13-2012, 03:59 AM   #6
kerklein2
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Austin
Posts: 376
Liked 13 Times on 11 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

Wait, why would I run my pumps on a wall outlet? Should be fine pulling 120V from the 3-wire, yes?

Also, my control panel is already done, and I don't want to re-wire it if I don't have to.

__________________
kerklein2 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-13-2012, 04:05 AM   #7
grandequeso
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: jacksonville, fl
Posts: 176
Liked 9 Times on 9 Posts
Likes Given: 7

Default

The problem you have with your dryer circuit is that you are short one conductor (wire) by running your pumps are the only thing that actually needs a neutral conductor. your pid and contactors (if you used 240v contactors) don't require a neutral conductor... Problem solved

__________________
grandequeso is online now
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-13-2012, 04:08 AM   #8
passedpawn
Moderator
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
passedpawn's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: ☼ Clearwater, FL ☼
Posts: 17,472
Liked 2630 Times on 1696 Posts
Likes Given: 2138

Default

Yes you can pull the 120V pumps from one leg of the 240.

Yes, the whole thing will work fine off 240V 3 wire. Ground all exposed metal to a a ground wire that bypasses the spa panel, connecting to the neutral before it reaches the panel. So, H-H-N to the spa panel, then use 4-wire H-H-N-G to the control box. 240V devices get wired H-H, 120V devices get wired H-N, and all exposed metal is tied to G. This way the GFCI will trip.

This is not ideal because you've got a ground wire tied to a neutral which is carrying current (the return from the 120V devices). But it will all work fine and might still save your life. If the neutral is loose going to the panel, and you get a live short in the pot, you might have a problem (besides the pumps not working), but you'll be the first to know.

Boy I'll bet I'll pay for responding to this thread. Damn the torpedos!

__________________
Do not try and bend the spoon. That's impossible. Instead... only try to realize the truth. There is no spoon.
passedpawn is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-13-2012, 04:09 AM   #9
kerklein2
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Austin
Posts: 376
Liked 13 Times on 11 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

I'm not following you completely, but I understand I only have 3-wires with no ground. However, following P-Js diagram to hook up a GFI spa panel to a 3-wire outlet, it should work correctly, yes? That was my understanding.

The control panel is done I've been using it for a while. I already own the spa panel. Minimizing the changes is important to me.

__________________
kerklein2 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-13-2012, 04:11 AM   #10
passedpawn
Moderator
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
passedpawn's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: ☼ Clearwater, FL ☼
Posts: 17,472
Liked 2630 Times on 1696 Posts
Likes Given: 2138

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kerklein2 View Post
I'm not following you completely, but I understand I only have 3-wires with no ground. However, following P-Js diagram to hook up a GFI spa panel to a 3-wire outlet, it should work correctly, yes? That was my understanding.

The control panel is done I've been using it for a while. I already own the spa panel. Minimizing the changes is important to me.
I've never looked at a P-J drawing. Can't help you there. I built my two panels well before he was a member here.

If you're not comfortable with it, just get a electrician buddy to help you.


__________________
Do not try and bend the spoon. That's impossible. Instead... only try to realize the truth. There is no spoon.
passedpawn is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Beating a dead horse..secondary or not? OHIOSTEVE General Techniques 55 01-27-2012 03:58 PM
Beating a dead horse (fly sparging)... jshively All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing 4 12-21-2011 11:12 PM
Beating a dead horse here... AUMonkeyBoy General Beer Discussion 7 10-12-2011 03:01 PM
Beating a dead horse Ninkasi Equipment/Sanitation 6 02-06-2007 01:23 AM