Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > How to make an outlet from range plug
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-21-2011, 01:33 PM   #1
gclay
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 262
Liked 2 Times on 1 Posts

Default How to make an outlet from range plug

I have been wondering if I can make a box that plugs into my 240v range out let that will have an extension cord for my brewing panel? Like a power bar I guess.

Gerald

__________________
gclay is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-21-2011, 01:38 PM   #2
lschiavo
Drinks Beer
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
lschiavo's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Surrounded by Yoopers
Posts: 4,005
Liked 795 Times on 531 Posts
Likes Given: 550

Default

Sure. Just get a male plug and female connector. You can make an extension cord whatever length you need. The cable and ends can get a bit pricey though.

*edit* sorry if I misunderstood. I am not sure what you mean by power bar.

__________________
lschiavo is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-21-2011, 01:54 PM   #3
wyzazz
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Atwater, OH
Posts: 4,266
Liked 41 Times on 40 Posts
Likes Given: 49

Default

Are you looking to split the 240V to 120V? If so this can be done if you have a 3+G cable run to the outlet, or a 4 prong range outlet.

What voltage does your control panel need? Give us some specifics and we can try to help out.

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Revvy View Post
And I'd like to see my 1.080 beers ready from grain to glass in a week, and served to me by red-headed twin penthouse pets wearing garter belts and fishnet stockings, with Irish accents, calling me "master luv gun," but we can't always get what we want can we? :)
wyzazz is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-21-2011, 02:23 PM   #4
gclay
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 262
Liked 2 Times on 1 Posts

Default

I was looking to make the toolbox control panel. I want to make a box that I can plug into the wall, plug the range into that and have a cord run from the box to the control panel.

__________________
gclay is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-21-2011, 02:32 PM   #5
gclay
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 262
Liked 2 Times on 1 Posts

Default

I want to use the 240v for brewing without having to unplug the range.

__________________
gclay is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-21-2011, 02:34 PM   #6
wyzazz
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Atwater, OH
Posts: 4,266
Liked 41 Times on 40 Posts
Likes Given: 49

Default

Hmmmm, how many amps is the breaker that your range runs on?

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Revvy View Post
And I'd like to see my 1.080 beers ready from grain to glass in a week, and served to me by red-headed twin penthouse pets wearing garter belts and fishnet stockings, with Irish accents, calling me "master luv gun," but we can't always get what we want can we? :)
wyzazz is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-21-2011, 02:36 PM   #7
skibumdc
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: NoVa
Posts: 216
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts

Default

Just buy 1 male plug, 2 female plugs and some x gauge wire. X= gauge of wire you need to safely use the outlet based on amps being drawn & length of cord.

Make your own splitter. As long as you don't use both at the same time the outlet in the wall won't care if split the physical connection after the socket

__________________
skibumdc is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-21-2011, 02:37 PM   #8
MazdaMatt
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: St. Thomas, Ontario
Posts: 275
Liked 9 Times on 7 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Honestly, I think that if you're asking this questions, you should be hiring someone.

Personally, I would just pop a hole in the wall below the range plug, install a second range-plug box as a brew plug and run the wires in parallel from the range plug to the brew plug (inside the wall, of course).

Be careful of your total power requirements, you may overrun the breaker if you've got the oven and stove on and you're trying to run brew equipment.

Alternatively, clip another breaker into your breaker box and run a fresh wire to your brew room and install a plug.

__________________
MazdaMatt is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-21-2011, 02:37 PM   #9
gclay
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 262
Liked 2 Times on 1 Posts

Default

40 amp double breaker

__________________
gclay is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-21-2011, 02:39 PM   #10
gclay
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 262
Liked 2 Times on 1 Posts

Default

I can create a splitter in basic circuits, Just wondering if it's the same thing. I wouldn't be using oven and brew at the same time.

__________________
gclay is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
placement of GFCI outlet kappclark Electric Brewing 7 03-05-2011 06:13 PM
How much power is available at the outlet? SenorWanderer Electric Brewing 9 02-08-2011 04:57 AM
Range extension cord>outlet>inline gfi snail Electric Brewing 4 12-13-2010 04:22 PM
3 Prong Range Outlet Chefkeith Electric Brewing 5 11-29-2010 04:00 PM
Laundry Outlet? ZWood15 Electric Brewing 13 10-19-2010 05:53 AM



Newest Threads

New

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS