Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Last Sponsor Giveaway of the Year!

Come Enter the BrewDeals/FastFerment Giveaway!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > How do you bypass a 2 position selector switch for automated brewing?`
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-29-2010, 05:05 PM   #1
EuBrew
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 496
Liked 4 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default How do you bypass a 2 position selector switch for automated brewing?`

In my original panel design I was planning on using a 2 position selector switch to select EITHER my 5500 watt BK element, OR my 5500 watt HLT element ala Ohio-Ed and Kal's panels.

This makes sense in Manual control because it keeps both elements from being fired at the same time and overloading my electrical supply causing the breaker to trip (50A GFCI) because of overcurrent.

It seems to me that if I have the BK selected and I'm running an automated brew session with Brewtroller then the HLT will not be able to be fired unless I turn the switch each time it needs to be in use, thus limiting the functionality of the automated process. What is my work around for this?

__________________
Primary 1: empty
Primary 2: empty
Primary 3: still at LHBS waiting for me to purchase
Secondary 1: empty
Secondary 2: empty
Secondary 3: empty

Kegged: New Belgium Ranger IPA Clone attempt #1
Bottled Southern Tier Pumking Clone

Planned: EdWort's haus pale ale
CBC Bodhi IPA



I may be naive but I make up for that with inexperience!!
EuBrew is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-29-2010, 05:18 PM   #2
JayInJersey
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 600
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Maybe a switch in front of that one that is either BTroll/Manual where manual lets the BK/HLT one work and BTroll bypasses the switch and lets the BTroll decide?

Just brainstorming don't quote me on any of that

__________________
JayInJersey is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-29-2010, 05:30 PM   #3
EuBrew
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 496
Liked 4 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Possibly....... I need to take a closer look at Ohio-Ed's since he's using BCS for automated I'm sure he had the same issue.

Back to the research!

__________________
Primary 1: empty
Primary 2: empty
Primary 3: still at LHBS waiting for me to purchase
Secondary 1: empty
Secondary 2: empty
Secondary 3: empty

Kegged: New Belgium Ranger IPA Clone attempt #1
Bottled Southern Tier Pumking Clone

Planned: EdWort's haus pale ale
CBC Bodhi IPA



I may be naive but I make up for that with inexperience!!
EuBrew is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-29-2010, 05:51 PM   #4
Ohio-Ed
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Ohio-Ed's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2,072
Liked 19 Times on 18 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EuBrew View Post
Possibly....... I need to take a closer look at Ohio-Ed's since he's using BCS for automated I'm sure he had the same issue.

Back to the research!
In my drawing, manual intervention is required to switch HLT / BK, regardless of auto or manual mode.

The BCS doesn't give a hoot about your capacity, so it is possible to program the BCS to fire both at the same time. There is no provision in the BCS to "Lock Out" an output based on your overall electrical capacity. I asked about a feature like that on the BCS forum, but the idea didn't get much traction.

So, for now, I have to switch the selector by hand. My process is not lights out automated anyway. The BCS processes take me to a point requiring manual intervention, sounds an alarm, and holds until told to goto the next step / process.
__________________
Ohio-Ed is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-29-2010, 06:05 PM   #5
EuBrew
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 496
Liked 4 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ohio-Ed View Post
In my drawing, manual intervention is required to switch HLT / BK, regardless of auto or manual mode.

The BCS doesn't give a hoot about your capacity, so it is possible to program the BCS to fire both at the same time. There is no provision in the BCS to "Lock Out" an output based on your overall electrical capacity. I asked about a feature like that on the BCS forum, but the idea didn't get much traction.

So, for now, I have to switch the selector by hand. My process is not lights out automated anyway. The BCS processes take me to a point requiring manual intervention, sounds an alarm, and holds until told to goto the next step / process.
Yeah, I was just looking through your thread again and didn't see anywhere that would cover this, meaning being able to bypass the selector switches. I'm thinking outloud here, but if I have both elements in Auto mode then when I program BT I would program it to where the elements wouldn't be on at the same time anyway. This leaves me with the selector switch to deal with in manual. Need to figure out how I can use the selector in manual, then bypass it in auto........ hmmmmmmmmmm gotta think some more on this. I wonder about making it a DPDT switch where one pole would be manual, the other would be Auto.................

I posted this in the BT forum too so HOPEFULLY I'll get some sort of feedback there.

Thanks Ed!
__________________
Primary 1: empty
Primary 2: empty
Primary 3: still at LHBS waiting for me to purchase
Secondary 1: empty
Secondary 2: empty
Secondary 3: empty

Kegged: New Belgium Ranger IPA Clone attempt #1
Bottled Southern Tier Pumking Clone

Planned: EdWort's haus pale ale
CBC Bodhi IPA



I may be naive but I make up for that with inexperience!!
EuBrew is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-29-2010, 07:05 PM   #6
evanmars
EAC Wannabe
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
evanmars's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Springport, Michigan
Posts: 876
Liked 39 Times on 28 Posts
Likes Given: 9

Default

Use a relay to bypass the switch in Auto.

__________________
Consistency is only a virtue if you're not a screwup

Primary - Pumpkin Pie Ale
Secondary - 0
Kegged - 0 No kegs anymore :(
Bottled - Raspberry Blonde
evanmars is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-29-2010, 07:43 PM   #7
Ohio-Ed
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Ohio-Ed's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2,072
Liked 19 Times on 18 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by evanmars View Post
Use a relay to bypass the switch in Auto.
I think its a bit more complex than that...

If you want the BT to be able to control both elements and you are counting on it NOT firing both at the same time, then you need to also "lock out" BOTH Manual positons on the individual Element selectors so you don't Manually fire one while the BT is controlling the other.

So... I think you need to bypass all three switches if you want to depend on the BT to limit which is on.

Ed
__________________
Ohio-Ed is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-29-2010, 07:56 PM   #8
GilaMinumBeer
In yo' garage, steelin' yo parts.
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
GilaMinumBeer's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oblivion
Posts: 48,468
Liked 4894 Times on 4478 Posts
Likes Given: 60

Default

I vote a hammer.

__________________
GilaMinumBeer is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-29-2010, 07:59 PM   #9
EuBrew
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 496
Liked 4 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

yeah....... this one is way beyond my skill set.........

Have to finish my drawing with just the selector switch first then maybe I can see a workaround.

__________________
Primary 1: empty
Primary 2: empty
Primary 3: still at LHBS waiting for me to purchase
Secondary 1: empty
Secondary 2: empty
Secondary 3: empty

Kegged: New Belgium Ranger IPA Clone attempt #1
Bottled Southern Tier Pumking Clone

Planned: EdWort's haus pale ale
CBC Bodhi IPA



I may be naive but I make up for that with inexperience!!
EuBrew is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-29-2010, 08:10 PM   #10
JayInJersey
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 600
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Still brainstorming...


If you used a 3-POS selector with 1 set of NC blocks and one set of NO blocks on them couldn't you wire it BK-Auto-HLT

Wired so the only way the BTroll gets control is on the Auto position...


This appears to work in my head and on my scribble (no you can't see this one either...) but not sure in practice.


But you have to be sure you program your BTroll so it never fires both at once...cause it could. But that would be a programming/software error not a hardware error

__________________
Hazard Brewing
JayInJersey is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Selector switch that automatically turns off when power's cut? kal Electric Brewing 44 11-25-2010 01:23 AM
Automated immersion test bzomerlei Electric Brewing 6 11-01-2010 02:16 PM
Need help wiring 3 Position selector switch for Brewtroller EuBrew Electric Brewing 5 10-29-2010 05:39 PM



Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS