Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > How to connect a thermocouple?
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-20-2012, 06:21 PM   #1
Cromwell
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA
Posts: 778
Liked 73 Times on 60 Posts
Likes Given: 132

Default How to connect a thermocouple?

I have this PID. http://novapcs.brinkster.net/novapcs...mocouple-1.jpg

With this wiring diagram: http://novapcs.brinkster.net/novapcs...mocouple-5.jpg

So, I'm confused as to how to connect the two wires of the K thermocouple to this PID? Is it just to terminals 7 and 10? Do I need jumpers/resistors/something else?

TIA!

pc7-pid-20temperature-20and-20k-20thermocouple-5.jpg  
__________________

Primary: Beer / Secondary: Beer / Lagering: Old beer.

Cromwell is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-20-2012, 11:08 PM   #2
bink00
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Georgetown, KY
Posts: 109
Liked 7 Times on 3 Posts

Default

8 is + and 7 is - for a TC....7 and 10 would be for an RTD.

__________________
bink00 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-21-2012, 05:14 AM   #3
Cromwell
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA
Posts: 778
Liked 73 Times on 60 Posts
Likes Given: 132

Default

Oh, thanks! I didn't even know what an RTD was.

__________________

Primary: Beer / Secondary: Beer / Lagering: Old beer.

Cromwell is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-28-2012, 02:30 AM   #4
Cromwell
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA
Posts: 778
Liked 73 Times on 60 Posts
Likes Given: 132

Default

So, I went with an RTD, but I'm still confused how to connect it. The RTD has 3 wires - 2 red and one white.
Little help?

Thanks in advance!

__________________

Primary: Beer / Secondary: Beer / Lagering: Old beer.

Cromwell is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-28-2012, 01:17 PM   #5
thargrav
Registered User
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Huntsville, Alabama
Posts: 821
Liked 38 Times on 35 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cromwell View Post
So, I went with an RTD, but I'm still confused how to connect it. The RTD has 3 wires - 2 red and one white.
Little help?

Thanks in advance!
A RTD will connect to screws 7,8 & 10. The two wires that are the same color go under screws 7 & 8. The remaining wire goes under screw 10. Depending on the PID you may also need to connect screws 9 & 10 together.
__________________
thargrav is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-28-2012, 01:29 PM   #6
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,276
Liked 258 Times on 206 Posts
Likes Given: 450

Default

The RTD probe white wire goes to terminal 7. That's the probe minus connection.
The two red wires go to terminals 8 & 9. They are the probe plus connections.

Terminal 10 is for a completely different probe type.

__________________
P-J is offline
Cromwell Likes This 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-28-2012, 02:00 PM   #7
thargrav
Registered User
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Huntsville, Alabama
Posts: 821
Liked 38 Times on 35 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

OK, thanks for the correction - this is one I haven't wired yet.

__________________
thargrav is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-28-2012, 07:16 PM   #8
Cromwell
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA
Posts: 778
Liked 73 Times on 60 Posts
Likes Given: 132

Default

Yep, I hooked it up the way P-J said and it seems to work correctly now - the PID output is within 2 degrees of my thermometer.

Now, though, the PID won't turn off. I had it programmed for 160 (F) and it went right up to 210 and stayed there while the water boiled. I changed the set value down to 70 and it still stayed on. Any suggestions?

__________________

Primary: Beer / Secondary: Beer / Lagering: Old beer.

Cromwell is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-28-2012, 07:38 PM   #9
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,276
Liked 258 Times on 206 Posts
Likes Given: 450

Default

Sounds like you might have a problem with the SSR or the wiring of it.

I suggest that you remove one of the wires from the PID to the SSR (the control side of the SSR not the power side) and then see if it is still applying heat to the kettle. If so, the SSR is bad. If it does not apply heat with that connection open, then you either have a wiring error, a program problem with the PID or the PID has gone bad for some reason.

Let us know what you find.

__________________
P-J is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-28-2012, 07:41 PM   #10
Cromwell
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA
Posts: 778
Liked 73 Times on 60 Posts
Likes Given: 132

Default

I don't think it's the SSR. The light on the PID that indicates it's trying to heat is on. Also, I have seen the SSR turn off momentarily when I stirred the pot for some reason. No idea why that'd be true. I'll try disconnecting the control to the SSR.

__________________

Primary: Beer / Secondary: Beer / Lagering: Old beer.

Cromwell is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which thermocouple to use? kburden1 Electric Brewing 6 10-26-2012 06:42 PM
Thermocouple Pash91 Equipment/Sanitation 11 08-24-2011 07:21 PM
This thermocouple?? kickflip_mj Equipment/Sanitation 3 04-03-2008 08:46 PM
Thermocouple or thermocouple wire source? e lo Equipment/Sanitation 22 11-08-2007 08:09 PM