New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermeneter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > High Gravity BIAB Electric Brewing System

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-08-2013, 03:28 AM   #1
ScrewyBrewer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default High Gravity BIAB Electric Brewing System

I'll be moving to a new place and will be able to brew beer in my garage using the High Gravity BIAB Electric Brewing System, both of which I hope to buy sooner than later.

I've been brewing all grain for several years using gas but the move has me seriously considering using a 62 quart kettle with a 4500 watt heating element that requires a 200volt 30amp ground fault outlet.

I was just wondering if any brewers out there might be willing to share with me their electric brewing knowledge, about heating and boiling 10 gallons of 1.060 or lower wort. I already planned on using some form of mechanical lifting device to raise the wet grain before the boil.

'Give a man a beer and he'll waste an hour, teach him to brew beer and he'll waste a lifetime'.

The Screwy Brewer
www.thescrewybrewer.com
Screwy's On Facebook

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-08-2013, 10:31 AM   #2
DrHops

Recipes 

Liked 20 Times on 20 Posts
Likes Given: 1

It takes less than 20 minutes to heat the water up to mash temp, then another 10 or so to bring it to a boil after mashing. I mounted an eye bolt into one of the studs in my garage ceiling. I added a simple ratchet pulley system that locks as you pull the rope. My entire setup is on a rolling cart so I just roll out my system and brew directly underneath the eye bolt. When it's time to remove the grains, I just hook up the ratchet to the bag and pull away. I squeeze the grain bag then just let it sit over the pot until the boil starts. I roll the pot away and lower the grains into a bucket. Then it's just a simple, dump and rinse out the bag.

On Deck: