Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway - Enter Now!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Hesting Element questions

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-20-2011, 07:22 PM   #1
Guess42
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 163
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

Default Hesting Element questions

I did not see anywhere where this was answered. If it was please point me in the right direction.

I was looking into building a small BIAB setup with a heater element and PID/SSR to control the temperature. Small setup would be nice as I live in a small apartment.

In the apartment I live in I have no access to my circuit breakers, so I don't know how to judge the amperage of any of my sockets. So mny first question is, how can I tell/ is there a way?

My next question is, if i can't tell if I have 20a in my kitchen I should assume I don't have it, is it safe to assume I have 15a? If so will a 1500W heater work?(3.5 gallon final batch size.)

Thanks for any help you guys can give.

__________________
Guess42 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-20-2011, 08:08 PM   #2
sambogi76
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Carbondale, IL., Illinois
Posts: 168
Default

Most of your circuits should be at least 15 amps. As long as you use a 1500W element you should be safe, I just wouldn't use any other high amperage appliances (like a microwave) at the same time since you don't know your circuits.

__________________
sambogi76 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-20-2011, 08:49 PM   #3
Bachhus
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Albany, OR
Posts: 126
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

Default

Do you have an electric dryer in you apartment? If so there could be a 220 source. You would have to mess with plugging and unplugging the dryer when you brewed plus run an extension cord to the kitchen though.

__________________
Bachhus is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-20-2011, 09:02 PM   #4
Guess42
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 163
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

Default

Nope, no dryer. Maybe I can ask the landlord in some way where they dont ask what the heck I'm doing.

__________________
Guess42 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-20-2011, 09:22 PM   #5
sambogi76
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Carbondale, IL., Illinois
Posts: 168
Default

Electric stove???

__________________
sambogi76 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-20-2011, 09:54 PM   #6
Bachhus
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Albany, OR
Posts: 126
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

Default

Are you 100% sure you don't have access to your breaker pannel? Is this an apartment complex or an apartment off of a house or something? How do they expect you to reset your circuit if you happen to trip the breaker?

If you really don't have access to it I would just ask them to show you where it is so you "know in case" type of a thing. Then take a look and see what your kitchen breaker is, I would guess 20amp but you won't know until you look at it.

__________________
Bachhus is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-21-2011, 12:06 PM   #7
Guess42
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 163
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

Default

I'm in a large apartment complex. If power goes out they have a person on call for emergencies and such. And no, I have a gas stove.

__________________
Guess42 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-21-2011, 01:49 PM   #8
Chefkeith
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Chefkeith's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Peoria, Illinois
Posts: 111
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Guess42 View Post
I'm in a large apartment complex. If power goes out they have a person on call for emergencies and such. And no, I have a gas stove.
Still sounds weird. I couldn't imagine having to call someone if I tripped a breaker.
__________________
Chefkeith is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-21-2011, 02:23 PM   #9
finley
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Topeka
Posts: 87
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

Do you have a dedicated outlet for a microwave? Generally speaking, this "should be" on its own circuit, and "should be" a 20a circuit.

__________________
finley is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Heating element questions Patirck Electric Brewing 36 04-20-2012 12:18 PM
What does your element look like? dboblitt Electric Brewing 4 01-10-2012 03:08 PM
Element Wiring McCuckerson Electric Brewing 13 03-10-2011 02:39 AM
canning element stevedasleeve Electric Brewing 0 01-26-2011 10:12 PM
208 volt element Budzu Electric Brewing 14 11-06-2010 02:19 AM