New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermenter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Help w/ wiring (so I don't die)




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-01-2011, 01:22 AM   #1
Twang
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 86
Exclamation Help w/ wiring (so I don't die)

I am working on a control panel for a 120v 2000w heating element and pump. I took a stab at the wiring but am not confident in it all...
Also, are IEC receptacles what I am looking for to be able to plug extension cords from the power outlets to the control box?



__________________
Twang is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-01-2011, 03:40 AM   #2
Walker
I use secondaries. :p
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Walker's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 11,238
Liked 71 Times on 63 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Default

No, that diagram isn't any good. I am using my phone, so I can't draw you a suitable diagram, but I might be able to describe it.

I am going to refer to wires by the standard colors that are used in 120V service.

Pump side:
Three lines come in, green (ground), white (neutral), and black (hot). green and white can go straight to the pump receptacle. Black passes through switch before going to receptacle.

Element side:
Same three wires in. Again, white and green go straight to the receptacle. Black connects to ssr. Black comes back out of ssr and to switch. Then out of switch to receptacle.

Incoming black and white also connect to PID and control lines from pid go to ssr (this part you had right).



__________________
Ground Fault Brewing Co.
Walker is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-01-2011, 04:16 AM   #3
Wberry
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Huntington Beach, Ca
Posts: 68
Default

Two things to note:

In regards to extension cord sizing since you look like you will need one/two. For a 20amp circuit with a short run you are likely good on a 12/3 cable. But if you are running 50-100', nearing 20amps and plan of running your element for +5-6 hours ... do yourself the favor and step up to a 10-3 welding extension cord. You will find that your element gets the current it needs and can thusly operate more efficiently.

In terms of the overall design ... and I don't want to tell people what to do (though I am about to ) as I have seen many many schematics like yours; BUT, I am not a big fan of having one device plugged into and powered by (2) outlets. I have always hated working on systems where I could not de-energize the device from 1 location and KNOW with certainty that I was in control of the one and only method of energizing a system.

I don't want to tangent the thread and hope you come back with further question; but, for the sake of innovation and safety thats my 2 cents on overall electrical rig design.

Wire On! Buy a Multi-Meter and RDWHAHB!

__________________

Drinking: American Amber, Kolsch-Style, American Blonde
Bottled: Falconers Flight IPA, Falconers Flight IPA w/Raspberries, AG BIAB Kolsch-Style
Primary: AG Kolsch-Style #2
On Deck: Bee Cave Haus Pale on Peaches

Wberry is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-03-2011, 11:10 PM   #4
Twang
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 86
Default

Thank you for the feedback.
How is this revised diagram?
Do I need fuses?

__________________
Twang is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-04-2011, 01:34 AM   #5
nevertrustahipie
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: raleigh
Posts: 40
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

Is your pump thermally protected? if so, don't worry about fusing it. If it's not thermally protected, it would be best to fuse (or breaker) it.

Quote:
BUT, I am not a big fan of having one device plugged into and powered by (2) outlets.
I would normally agree, BUT neither of those outlets are large enough to handle both loads.
__________________
nevertrustahipie is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-04-2011, 03:14 PM   #6
samc
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Portland OR
Posts: 5,420
Liked 53 Times on 50 Posts
Likes Given: 29

Default

It looks to be an unsafe design in my non professional opinion. I also don't like having 2 sources of power. What if you are being zapped and you have two switches or plugs to pull to save yourself a trip to the hospital or worse. Also if I am reading your diagram correctly you have the GFI's at the end of the circuit just before the pump & element, instead of at the other end. Your PID is not fused. Also are those switches with pilot lamps? If so they are not wired to light up. For the less than $5 I'd fuse both the PID & pump .

__________________
samc is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-11-2011, 10:11 PM   #7
Twang
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 86
Default

I appreciate the input and feedback. I will try to think of another option.

Question: What type of wire do I need for inside the box, for the PID, SSR, Receptacles, Switches?

Wberry noted for a short run from the power source (GFCIs) to the control box I will need 12/3 for short runs. Do I use the same wire for inside the box to connect the components?

Thanks.

__________________
Twang is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-11-2011, 10:36 PM   #8
Wberry
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Huntington Beach, Ca
Posts: 68
Default

Any time I am doing panel wiring I go with correctly sized (for amperage) MTW/THHN ... It's much easier!

__________________

Drinking: American Amber, Kolsch-Style, American Blonde
Bottled: Falconers Flight IPA, Falconers Flight IPA w/Raspberries, AG BIAB Kolsch-Style
Primary: AG Kolsch-Style #2
On Deck: Bee Cave Haus Pale on Peaches

Wberry is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-11-2011, 10:45 PM   #9
Twang
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 86
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wberry View Post
Any time I am doing panel wiring I go with correctly sized (for amperage) MTW/THHN ... It's much easier!
Thanks.
So 12 gauge wire like this should work.
__________________
Twang is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-12-2011, 01:32 AM   #10
Wberry
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Huntington Beach, Ca
Posts: 68
Default

Yeah I like the MTW because it's stranded and works well if you are doing crimps, lugs, soldering, screw terminals, cage clamps ... Etc. But you won't be burned by using solid core THHN.



__________________

Drinking: American Amber, Kolsch-Style, American Blonde
Bottled: Falconers Flight IPA, Falconers Flight IPA w/Raspberries, AG BIAB Kolsch-Style
Primary: AG Kolsch-Style #2
On Deck: Bee Cave Haus Pale on Peaches

Wberry is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Element Wiring McCuckerson Electric Brewing 13 03-10-2011 02:39 AM
120V wiring help magnj Electric Brewing 1 02-20-2011 08:19 PM
Check my wiring? Palefire Electric Brewing 8 01-20-2011 03:13 AM
Simple PID Wiring mcgeebc Electric Brewing 5 12-10-2010 09:06 PM
Pid Wiring Question... Dgonza9 Electric Brewing 11 11-01-2010 02:24 AM