New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermenter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Help BCS 462 wiring Schematic/Advice




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-09-2013, 08:47 PM   #11
beluedog
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 73
Liked 6 Times on 6 Posts
Likes Given: 7

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brando_i View Post
Sorry for the total newb question here but I'm trying to decide whether or not to go ahead with a Kal style control panel or a BCS setup to run a single pot and pump. The reason why the BCS is on my radar is that eventually I will scale up to using a RIMS tube for mashing.

My question is why the selector switches? Wouldn't that defeat the purpose of the automation of the BCS? I had assumed you could run your BCS to your SSR's then to your heating elements. Or am I missing something?
If your planning on expanding makes sense to go with BCS IMHO.
Selector switch are Auto (BCS) | Off | ON (manual).

I added the manual in case the BCS crashes mid brew and for cleaning pumps and what not...


__________________
beluedog is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-10-2013, 02:30 PM   #12
Brando_i
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Montreal, Qc
Posts: 21
Likes Given: 1

Default

Is the BCS known to crash? I assume manual mode would simply give full power to the element?



__________________
Brando_i is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-10-2013, 05:41 PM   #13
beluedog
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 73
Liked 6 Times on 6 Posts
Likes Given: 7

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brando_i View Post
Is the BCS known to crash? I assume manual mode would simply give full power to the element?
Not know to crash. Yes full power. I would only expect it to be one for a few minutes if you needed to restart BCS.
__________________
beluedog is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-10-2013, 06:37 PM   #14
mateomtb
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Pine, Co
Posts: 122
Liked 7 Times on 7 Posts
Likes Given: 7

Default

I use 3 way switches with my bcs and use them a lot to run things manually, mostly while I'm cleaning up to warm up some water or use the pumps. Not necessary but I would highly recommend using them. I have had my wireless freak out before and lost connectivity to the bcs which could leave you completely out of control at a critical moment. I pretty much use the ethernet line during the brew now just to be safe and only use wireless if I'm working on setting up some processess pre brew from the couch.

__________________
mateomtb is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-10-2013, 07:26 PM   #15
beluedog
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 73
Liked 6 Times on 6 Posts
Likes Given: 7

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mateomtb View Post
I use 3 way switches with my bcs and use them a lot to run things manually, mostly while I'm cleaning up to warm up some water or use the pumps. Not necessary but I would highly recommend using them. I have had my wireless freak out before and lost connectivity to the bcs which could leave you completely out of control at a critical moment. I pretty much use the ethernet line during the brew now just to be safe and only use wireless if I'm working on setting up some processess pre brew from the couch.
Good to know. Thanks. Would you do anything different with your setup knowing what you know now?
__________________
beluedog is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-12-2013, 04:26 PM   #16
Maltose
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Frederick, MD
Posts: 468
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

I'm essentially building the same project, except with electric ball valves. Can't wait to see more progress, thanks.

__________________
Maltose is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-16-2013, 02:12 PM   #17
ameliabrewery
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
ameliabrewery's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Virginia
Posts: 124
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

I have been fighting the flu for a few days so forgive me if I missed something. But, you are using the BCS462 but then started mentioning Brewtroller. I thought these were different? Am I missing something?

ameliabrewery is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-16-2013, 03:27 PM   #18
beluedog
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 73
Liked 6 Times on 6 Posts
Likes Given: 7

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ameliabrewery View Post
I have been fighting the flu for a few days so forgive me if I missed something. But, you are using the BCS462 but then started mentioning Brewtroller. I thought these were different? Am I missing something?
sorry for the miss quote. Just separating out whats controlling my brewing and my ferm/keezer.

Yes its all controlled by BCS 462
__________________
beluedog is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-16-2013, 03:59 PM   #19
aubiecat
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
aubiecat's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Alexander City, Alabama
Posts: 1,147
Liked 122 Times on 91 Posts
Likes Given: 39

Default

I am going to have a similar system to this. My ferm unit are away from my brewing area so this is great information on how to set my BCS system.
What are you going to monitor the system with? Networked computer, etc.?

__________________

Blake
Electric BIAB Build | BIAB Mesh False Bottom | Controller/Fermentation Chest

aubiecat is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-16-2013, 06:32 PM   #20
beluedog
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 73
Liked 6 Times on 6 Posts
Likes Given: 7

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aubiecat View Post
I am going to have a similar system to this. My ferm unit are away from my brewing area so this is great information on how to set my BCS system.
What are you going to monitor the system with? Networked computer, etc.?
Monitored via networked computer. Dedicated IP with port forwarding so I can see it from outside my LAN.


__________________
beluedog is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring schematic for switchable 110v/220v control panel critique needed WPStrassburg Electric Brewing 15 11-19-2013 03:02 AM
Need wiring advice, please help! akthor DIY Projects 10 05-07-2012 09:13 PM
No pump wiring schematic electric build help DPB Electric Brewing 11 04-01-2012 05:13 PM
Wiring schematic needed ThatsMyBeer DIY Projects 2 12-01-2011 04:33 PM
Is there any need for a stir plate wiring schematic? Anthony_Lopez DIY Projects 13 10-30-2008 01:21 AM