Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Heating Element Switch Question
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-16-2011, 02:33 AM   #1
JrZyBud
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Williamstown, NJ
Posts: 56
Default Heating Element Switch Question

Okay so I've just finished wiring up my RIMS toolbox as per the RIMS for dummies thread. I used a 1500w element, Auber PID and 25amp SSR. I installed a switch between the SSR and the heating element.

When I turn on my box the element should only run when I have the switch set to the on position, but it seems to be running no matter what and I'm not sure why. I haven't calibrated the PID or run auto tune yet.

Here is a wiring diagram that just shows the PID, SSR, switch and Element. The switch is a 3 way 15/20amp switch I had laying around. What am I doing wrong? Does it have something to do with the SSR?

__________________
JrZyBud is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-16-2011, 02:37 AM   #2
hatrickwah
Sponsor
HBT_SPONSOR.png
Vendor Ads 
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: The Woodlands, TX
Posts: 263
Liked 6 Times on 5 Posts

Default

3-Way switch? What for? A simple 2-way should be all you need if you want to effect on/off on the element in line with your SSR. You are simply trying to effect the current to the element. A 3-way switch requires a second 3-way to have any effect here, as you have it, it will either always be on, or always off.

__________________

Keeping busy brewing & building.

Electric Brewing Supply

My e-Brewery | Keezer Build & Tap Tower Refurbish |Glycol System

hatrickwah is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-16-2011, 02:39 AM   #3
JrZyBud
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Williamstown, NJ
Posts: 56
Default

*EDIT*

Well I guess I will just have to go and get a different switch. Thanks for the help!

__________________
JrZyBud is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-16-2011, 02:51 AM   #4
hatrickwah
Sponsor
HBT_SPONSOR.png
Vendor Ads 
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: The Woodlands, TX
Posts: 263
Liked 6 Times on 5 Posts

Default

Based on your diagram, I would say you should be good, make sure one wire is tied to your common and then of course the other tied to one of the other poles. I'm assuming you have a temp probe tied to the PID. I can't vouch for the PID autotuning and sort since I haven't gotten there yet on my brew rig, but from my experience you shouldn't need to tune it yet, it should still sense a temperature and it should switch as you set your target temps. Just a thought, but check your wiring to the SSR, make sure you have + on + and - on -, DC is picky.

__________________

Keeping busy brewing & building.

Electric Brewing Supply

My e-Brewery | Keezer Build & Tap Tower Refurbish |Glycol System

hatrickwah is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-16-2011, 04:41 AM   #5
Bobby_M
Vendor and Brewer
HBT_SPONSOR.png
Vendor Ads 
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
 
Bobby_M's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Whitehouse Station, NJ
Posts: 22,019
Liked 980 Times on 654 Posts
Likes Given: 28

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hatrickwah View Post
3-Way switch? What for? A simple 2-way should be all you need if you want to effect on/off on the element in line with your SSR. You are simply trying to effect the current to the element. A 3-way switch requires a second 3-way to have any effect here, as you have it, it will either always be on, or always off.
Actually, a 3 way switch can be used as on/off. It's basically just a single pole double throw switch (SPDT). The "travelers" connect to the NC and NO terminals.
__________________
BrewHardware.com
Sightglass, Refractometer, Ball Valve, Weldless bulkhead, Thermometer, Decals, Stainless Steel Fittings, Compression Fittings, Camlock Quick Disconnects, Scale, RIMS tube, Plate Chiller, Chugger Pump, Super Clear Silicone Tubing, and more!

New Stuff?
Bobby_M is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-16-2011, 09:57 PM   #6
JrZyBud
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Williamstown, NJ
Posts: 56
Default

Okay well I stopped and picked up another switch on my way home ... I will wire this one up and see if it makes any difference. If not the only think I could think that would be the problem would be my 1 & 2 leads on the SSR. Everything else is wired properly

__________________
JrZyBud is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-16-2011, 10:05 PM   #7
Walker
I use secondaries. :p
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Walker's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 11,236
Liked 86 Times on 77 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Default

agree with what bobby said. the 3-way switch is fine to use here, you just end up using it like a simple switch.

BUT.... this issue can't be related to the SSR. If your switch is off, then it doesn't matter what the SSR is doing - there simply isn't any path for current to flow on.

The 3-way switch might have been busted or something, which seems unlikely, but it's the only thing I can think of to try and explain why your element wouldn't shut off when the switch was flipped.

__________________
Ground Fault Brewing Co.
Walker is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-17-2011, 01:05 AM   #8
EarthBound
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Beer Capital of the World
Posts: 984
Liked 10 Times on 9 Posts
Likes Given: 84

Default

You might've wired the 3-way switch incorrectly. Perform continuity tests on the 3-way switch to make sure you know how it works and that it's wired correctly.

__________________

"You can do anything you set your mind to when you have vision, determination, and an endless supply of beer."

EarthBound is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-17-2011, 01:55 AM   #9
Bobby_M
Vendor and Brewer
HBT_SPONSOR.png
Vendor Ads 
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
 
Bobby_M's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Whitehouse Station, NJ
Posts: 22,019
Liked 980 Times on 654 Posts
Likes Given: 28

Default

The weird thing is that you could randomly pick any two of the three terminals on a 3-way switch and in no case would the two be connected constantly in both switch positions. If you picked the two travellers, it would never have connectivity. Broken is probably correct.

__________________
BrewHardware.com
Sightglass, Refractometer, Ball Valve, Weldless bulkhead, Thermometer, Decals, Stainless Steel Fittings, Compression Fittings, Camlock Quick Disconnects, Scale, RIMS tube, Plate Chiller, Chugger Pump, Super Clear Silicone Tubing, and more!

New Stuff?
Bobby_M is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-19-2011, 06:24 PM   #10
JrZyBud
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Williamstown, NJ
Posts: 56
Default

Well it must have been a faulty switch, because I just got around to replacing it and installing the new one and everything seems to be working fine now. Thanks for the help everyone!

__________________
JrZyBud is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Switch for running element at 120v OR 240V? thelorax121 Electric Brewing 14 05-10-2011 11:37 PM
3 Way Switch, 1500W element help TimWeber Electric Brewing 4 03-31-2011 11:04 PM
question about heating element stoneyrok Electric Brewing 13 03-25-2011 11:25 AM
120 v heating element nediver Electric Brewing 6 02-18-2011 01:42 PM
Selector switch to use one pic for two seperate element/probes StumpyJohnson Electric Brewing 23 11-24-2010 02:03 PM