Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Has anyone tried these SSRs?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-02-2013, 08:11 PM   #11
N3Bruce
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 4

I am just getting into the Homebrew hobby, but building an automatic system using something like a Rasberry PI and Uno controllers intrigues me. I work with equipment that uses similar SSRs to power solenoids and small motors like fractional horsepower AC Gearmotors in machines that open and sort mail. The SSR Boards tend to be pretty reliable, and no we don't blow air directly over the boards. You should be good to go as long as you don't exceed the ratings of the components. A 2 amp SSR should be capable of controlling 250 watts, but when a motor starts you need to consider the surge current. Not a big deal if you are running a motor that only draws an amp, but I would size the SSR twice as high as the current rating of the motor, just to be safe.

SSRs are able to switch at a much higher rate than mechanical relays. For firing solenoids, we often "kick" a 12 volt solenoid with 48 volts for a few milliseconds, then use 12 volts to hold it. SSRs are available in ratings up to 20 amps or more, and have replaced mechanical relays in many applications.

One thing you should have in your design is a "snubber" which dampens power spikes when a motor or solenoid is de-energized, and sometimes they are part of the SSR Board assembly.

Old 02-04-2013, 03:51 PM   #12
jCOSbrew
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Recipes 

Liked 37 Times on 33 Posts
Likes Given: 7

Check the current rating on the mini fridge. You will want at least 10 amps to start the compressor. Probably a couple amps to keep it running.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-05-2013, 10:38 PM   #13
N3Bruce
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 4