New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermeneter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Grainger Float Switch? Anyone?




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-28-2012, 12:48 AM   #1
tannnick
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 99
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default Grainger Float Switch? Anyone?

Has anyone ever used this? Also, would this simply go between the PID and SSR on the DC side or is it more complicated than that? Thanks.



__________________

Cherry Street Brewing Cooperative
www.facebook.com/TannersVickery

tannnick is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-28-2012, 02:01 AM   #2
amurphyz
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 60
Liked 5 Times on 4 Posts

Default

I got the same (looking) float switch from eBay for 8 bucks. The only down side is they come from hong kong, so don't be in a hurry, but mine work just fine.



__________________
amurphyz is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-28-2012, 01:03 PM   #3
wyzazz
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Atwater, OH
Posts: 4,263
Liked 39 Times on 39 Posts
Likes Given: 47

Default

http://www.oscsys.com/store/product/282

The one above is a bit cheaper, and sold in the BrewTroller Store.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Revvy View Post
And I'd like to see my 1.080 beers ready from grain to glass in a week, and served to me by red-headed twin penthouse pets wearing garter belts and fishnet stockings, with Irish accents, calling me "master luv gun," but we can't always get what we want can we? :)
wyzazz is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-29-2012, 01:48 AM   #4
tannnick
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 99
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

Ordered 2. Thanks! Appreciate it!

__________________

Cherry Street Brewing Cooperative
www.facebook.com/TannersVickery

tannnick is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-29-2012, 03:42 AM   #5
ThreeDogsNE
Good for what ales you
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: , Southwest Iowa
Posts: 580
Liked 19 Times on 15 Posts
Likes Given: 29

Default

Are those immersible? That is, if water or wort goes over the top of the float, do they still work upon draining?

__________________
ThreeDogsNE is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-29-2012, 11:39 AM   #6
wyzazz
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Atwater, OH
Posts: 4,263
Liked 39 Times on 39 Posts
Likes Given: 47

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ThreeDogsNE View Post
Are those immersible? That is, if water or wort goes over the top of the float, do they still work upon draining?
It's made to be immersible and be mounted in to the side of a kettle. If you zoom in there is a silicone gasket on the nut so you can drill a hole in the kettle and mount it through the wall.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Revvy View Post
And I'd like to see my 1.080 beers ready from grain to glass in a week, and served to me by red-headed twin penthouse pets wearing garter belts and fishnet stockings, with Irish accents, calling me "master luv gun," but we can't always get what we want can we? :)
wyzazz is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-29-2012, 02:28 PM   #7
amurphyz
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 60
Liked 5 Times on 4 Posts

Default

Just make sure you use a continuity tester before you mount it to make sure you are mounting it the correct way. The one I received had to be mounted in the downward position. Really all it is is a magnetic switch, so if it switches the opposite way of how it is mounted, the water level will either be way to high, or pointless and way to low.

__________________
amurphyz is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-29-2012, 09:00 PM   #8
ThreeDogsNE
Good for what ales you
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: , Southwest Iowa
Posts: 580
Liked 19 Times on 15 Posts
Likes Given: 29

Default

I need to run a vertical pipe. Has anyone used these? Cheaper, look okay for temperature.

http://www.grainger.com/Grainger/MADISON-Switch-2A554?cm_sp=IO-_-IDP-_-RR_VTV70300505&cm_vc=IDPRRZ1

__________________
ThreeDogsNE is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-17-2012, 04:14 PM   #9
tannnick
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 99
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

I understand how to wire this for heating elements. It would go inline between the PID and SSR. BUT, is this rated for pumps on AC? I would like to use it to control my sparge water pump. Is this possible?

__________________

Cherry Street Brewing Cooperative
www.facebook.com/TannersVickery

tannnick is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-18-2012, 01:07 PM   #10
amurphyz
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 60
Liked 5 Times on 4 Posts

Default

The ones that I have are only rated for 12v dc so I k ow mine won't work without adding steps own transformers and 12v relays



__________________
amurphyz is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BCS460 Float switch question Bsquared Electric Brewing 5 02-22-2013 07:50 PM
Float switch in boil kettle? RichBenn Electric Brewing 11 09-03-2012 06:39 PM
Illuminated Switch Stevo2569 Electric Brewing 6 12-21-2011 02:18 AM
Anyone have switch problems? brooklanebrewing Electric Brewing 7 11-18-2011 02:25 AM
How to attach 10 gauge wire to a Grainger 3PDT switch? bigljd Electric Brewing 44 11-07-2011 09:36 PM