*Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway - Enter Now!*

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > GFI compatability
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-17-2011, 12:17 AM   #1
tarponteaser
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Spacecoast FL
Posts: 72
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default GFI compatability

I've a Square D subpanel w/out gfi. I read about getting a spa panel from home depot, but all I see on the website is a GE or Eaton make. Anyone know if those gfi breakers will fit a square D panel?

If not, I guess I'd have to install the spa panel in the shed and feed it from my shed subpanel to get a working gfi for the 120/240 toolbox control panel I wish to build one day. My shed panel has a 40 amp master breaker, does it matter if the spa panel is a 50 amp gfi breaker?

My goal is to make a toolbox panel with a PID that can control both a 120 volt 1650 watt heat stick for heating mash water, then switch over to a 3500 watt 220 volt element in a boil pot.

Thanks for any insight, this is going to be a project done in stages but one I'm looking forward to.

Regards

ps..why is a spa panel with 50 amp gfi breaker cheaper than buying a 30 amp gfi breaker??

__________________
tarponteaser is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-17-2011, 12:29 AM   #2
bowhuntah
Registered User
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Windham, Maine
Posts: 111
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tarponteaser View Post
ps..why is a spa panel with 50 amp gfi breaker cheaper than buying a 30 amp gfi breaker??
A few years ago my 100 amp main breaker fried. It was cheaper to buy an entire panel w/breaker than just a breaker...anyone interested in a panel without breaker?
__________________
bowhuntah is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-17-2011, 12:56 AM   #3
sparkyaber
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Andover, MN
Posts: 405
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

Don't interchange breakers in panels that are not the same make, they are not listed by UL to be used in this manner. Do you have a homeline or QO square D panel? Put a regular 50 amp 2 pole breaker in the panel and feed the GFCI spa panel. Regular breakers are reasonably priced.

__________________

Carboy#1 Angry Gnome RIS 2012
Carboy#2 Angry Gnome RIS 2012
Carboy#3 Black IPA
Carboy#4 Black IPA
Carboys#5-14 m-t
3 Gallon m-t
Keg#1 Hops in Session
Keg#2 Yoopper's IPA
Kegs #3-12 m-t
Bottled: Holiday Ale, RIS 2011, Chocolate Espresso Porter, Vanilla Porter, Oktoberfest, Mai Bock, Old Vine Zin, Pinot Noir, Chocolate Raspberry Port,

sparkyaber is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-17-2011, 02:11 AM   #4
tarponteaser
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Spacecoast FL
Posts: 72
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

Thanks for the heads up Sparkyaber...I was guessing that would be the answer.

Pity I was not planning this a year ago when the shed was wired. The panel is a Square D QO panel, with a 40 amp breaker feeding the shed Square D QO panel via 4 insulated solid copper #6 wires in buried conduit.

__________________
tarponteaser is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-17-2011, 02:55 PM   #5
Walker
I use secondaries. :p
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Walker's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 11,236
Liked 86 Times on 77 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tarponteaser View Post
My shed panel has a 40 amp master breaker, does it matter if the spa panel is a 50 amp gfi breaker?
No. It does not matter functionally. In this scenario, the 40A breaker is in charge making sure the current never exceeds 40A, and the GFCI breaker is just in charge of making sure there is no ground fault.
__________________
Ground Fault Brewing Co.
Walker is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools