Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > GFCI Spa Panel (Hate making a new thread but...)

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-23-2012, 04:51 AM   #1
NewBrewB
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
NewBrewB's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: N. Kingstown, Rhode Island
Posts: 759
Liked 21 Times on 19 Posts
Likes Given: 10

Default GFCI Spa Panel (Hate making a new thread but...)

I just spent about 45 mins trying to find a thread with a parts list and step-by-step for using the "$50 Home Depot Spa Panel" to add GFCI between a 50A 4-prong outlet and my Kal build control panel...

Q1: Is it just me or is the "$50" spa panel now $65?

Q2: What else do I need?

I asked my electrician to install a 4-prong 30A outlet in my garage. He convinced me to run 6/3+Grnd and install a 50A breaker box (something lug.. it's after midnight--cut me some slack). This actually makes sense, so I can have some other outlets on the circuit without pushing the limits of 30A.

From my understanding, I'll need a short scrap of 10/4 and a normal 4-prong 220v wall-mount outlet to have a place to plug in my Spa Panel. The spa panel plugs into the above mentioned outlet. What else do I have to buy to have a place to plug in my control panel? Do the spa panels already have a 4-prong plug built into them? How much "cheaper" does this actually end up being, once I buy all of the outlets, cables, plugs, etc?

Q3: Reading the feedback on HD's website, it looks like a lot of these "cheap" GFCI breakers are unreliable.... "you get what you pay for?"

Q4: My electrician is installing a 50A panel with 12 slots...how much easier will my life be if I just buy a damn GFCI 30A GE breaker for the one wall-mounted 4-prong outlet for my control panel and skip the spa panel aspect? I can just take the breaker with me if I sell the house or move, right?

Q5: Why is it I had to start a whole new thread to answer these questions? I really thought the spa panel was one of the core pillars to E-Builds.

NewBrewB is online now
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-23-2012, 05:07 AM   #2
Sublimis
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Sublimis's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 67
Likes Given: 27

Default

I would just skip the stupid spa panel and buy a GFCI breaker. Its cheaper and you don't have a NEMA 3R box inside, Not like thats a big deal but less looks better. Its a 50A Main Lug Panel.

Q2: What are your goals?
Q3: GFCI Breaker
Q4: Yes you can take it with you.
Q5: Spa panels are stupid. Lets be professional here. lol

__________________
Sublimis is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-23-2012, 03:40 PM   #3
mrstevenund
Junior Member
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Hagerstown, MD
Posts: 87
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

Sublimis - Where are you buying for GFCI breaker? Pretty much everyone else on here (including me) have found the GFCI Breakers to be more like $100-150.

__________________
mrstevenund is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-23-2012, 03:53 PM   #4
rhoop
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 156
Liked 14 Times on 11 Posts

Default

Typically a spa panel is good for those who have an old panel and a gfci breaker is out of this world expensive. In my mind, a spa panel is the most flexible way to go long term.

When I hook up hot tubs its generated cheaper to buy a spa panel and a breaker than buy a gfci breaker.

You can take a gfci breaker with you, however, if you have a different brand of panel in your new house, it's useless without buying a new sub panel as you have already done now.

You just need 10/3 romex or bx for the plug, if you buy soow wire (extension cord wire) you do need 10/4. It's weird, but the extension cord wire includes a ground in the wire count so you need to say
10/4 (red, black, white, green), where every other wire type includes a ground without saying (10/3 romex is a red, black, white, and ground included).

__________________
rhoop is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-23-2012, 04:27 PM   #5
Rickochet
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Marion, Indiana
Posts: 109
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default Spa Wiring Diagram

This is a pretty simple real life look at a 4 wire set up...

spa.jpg  
__________________
Rick

It is easier to do things right the 1st time rather than to explain why it wasn't when you have to do it the 2nd time.
Rickochet is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-23-2012, 05:33 PM   #6
Sublimis
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Sublimis's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 67
Likes Given: 27

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrstevenund View Post
Sublimis - Where are you buying for GFCI breaker? Pretty much everyone else on here (including me) have found the GFCI Breakers to be more like $100-150.
Well Im a professional and a perfectionist price really doesn't matter to me. My Work in my equipment is a refection to my beer I strive for perfection.

BTW you can find less expensive...
__________________
Sublimis is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-23-2012, 05:40 PM   #7
kosmokramer
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,335
Liked 33 Times on 28 Posts
Likes Given: 36

Default

If you are only in need of a 30 amp circuit you could by a power cord with built in gfci protection. This allows for a standard breaker and i only paid like 40 for the cord and ten for the breaker.... i have like 900 feet of 10-3 romex for cheap if u need some

__________________

My eherms build: http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f170/rea...course-325623/

Help support my new LHBShttp://www.facebook.com/socalhomebrewing

kosmokramer is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-23-2012, 06:10 PM   #8
Sublimis
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Sublimis's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 67
Likes Given: 27

Default

I can look too. I might have a 30a 2 pole gfi. What brand panel are you putting in?

__________________
Remember every job is a self-portrait of the person who did it. Autograph your work with excellence.
Sublimis is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-23-2012, 06:24 PM   #9
NewBrewB
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
NewBrewB's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: N. Kingstown, Rhode Island
Posts: 759
Liked 21 Times on 19 Posts
Likes Given: 10

Default

It is GE.

I looked at HD today and the only 30A GFCI breakers they had were another brand. I can probably find it online. Actually, I meant to check Lowes to see if they carry the GE one.

I am betting my electrician will have a foot or two of the 10/3 (4 wire) to run from the panel to the outlet. Just a short scrap should do it.

Either way, I am going to skip the spa panel. It seems like most people say it is "cheaper" by comparing the 50A spa to a 50A breaker sold separately. In my case, I am comparing a 50A spa to a 30A breaker and the breaker seems cheaper and simpler.

Thanks for the feedback/advice. I promise to post at least one picture for your viewing pleasure in the near future.

__________________
From what I hear, my wet bar thread "delivers" hah
NewBrewB is online now
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-23-2012, 06:29 PM   #10
NewBrewB
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
NewBrewB's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: N. Kingstown, Rhode Island
Posts: 759
Liked 21 Times on 19 Posts
Likes Given: 10

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kosmokramer
... you could by a power cord with built in gfci protection...
I read about these in the pdf I bought from Kal but I read somewhere that the tolerance at which the gfi built into the cords trips is much higher than a breaker (ie: not as safe). Im sure the cord option is good enough but I couldnt find one at the time and just gave up on the idea. Now, my control panel and power cord are already done so the point is moot.
__________________
From what I hear, my wet bar thread "delivers" hah
NewBrewB is online now
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
50amp GFCI Spa panel safe at well below 50amps? Chello Electric Brewing 27 04-04-2013 10:53 AM
started making electric plans, wondering why spa panel is necessary? -TH- Electric Brewing 30 08-13-2012 05:03 PM
Need advice, panel not GFCI protected Dgonza9 Electric Brewing 25 01-31-2012 11:36 PM
will this GFCI panel work? NoCornOrRice Electric Brewing 4 01-12-2012 05:15 PM
Panel GFCI Breaker IrregularPulse Electric Brewing 13 03-23-2011 08:43 PM