The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > GFCI Spa box question......need opinion

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-30-2012, 02:26 AM   #1
scottstribling
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Phenix City, Alabama
Posts: 27
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default GFCI Spa box question......need opinion

Asking question...not looking for attacks. The cost of safety is priceless...but here is a question. A 30A 240V GFCI Breaker is roughly $120. A 50amp spa box is $69 at Home Depot.

If i were to run a 30A 2 pole breaker (Non-GFCI) in my Electrical panel, feeding a 10/3 line connected to a 50a GFCI Spa box. Would this in theory and safety, work?

My thought is would have the GFCI at "Wet" end and would have a 30amp feed from origin (electrical panel).

__________________
scottstribling is online now
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-30-2012, 02:32 AM   #2
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,231
Liked 244 Times on 196 Posts
Likes Given: 430

Default

Absolutely.

BTW... It is not in theory. It is a matter of fact.

If you need additional info, I'd be glad to help.

P-J

__________________
P-J is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-30-2012, 02:37 AM   #3
scottstribling
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Phenix City, Alabama
Posts: 27
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

So having the 50a breaker is not a problem since my system is a 30A (from source)?

__________________
scottstribling is online now
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-30-2012, 02:41 AM   #4
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,231
Liked 244 Times on 196 Posts
Likes Given: 430

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scottstribling View Post
So having the 50a breaker is not a problem since my system is a 30A (from source)?
Exactly. The 30A mains panel breaker provides the wiring protection. The Spa Panel GFCI breaker then only provides the GFCI protection. Done deal.

P-J
__________________
P-J is offline
scottstribling Likes This 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-30-2012, 02:54 AM   #5
scottstribling
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Phenix City, Alabama
Posts: 27
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Thanks P-J!

__________________
scottstribling is online now
P-J Likes This 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-30-2012, 03:05 AM   #6
355Newell
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Ypsilanti, Michigan
Posts: 54
Liked 5 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 13

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by P-J View Post
Absolutely.
Ill second that.
__________________
355Newell is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-30-2012, 07:46 AM   #7
whoaru99
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,585
Liked 124 Times on 101 Posts
Likes Given: 16

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scottstribling View Post

If i were to run a 30A 2 pole breaker (Non-GFCI) in my Electrical panel, feeding a 10/3 line connected to a 50a GFCI Spa box. Would this in theory and safety, work?

You mean 10/3 with ground (4-wire cable), right?
__________________

Primary: Edwort's Apfelwein
Secondary: Russian Imperial Stout
Drinking: Chinook IPA
Drinking: Waldo Lake Amber
Drinking: Edwort's Apfelwein

whoaru99 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-31-2012, 01:26 AM   #8
scottstribling
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Phenix City, Alabama
Posts: 27
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by whoaru99 View Post
You mean 10/3 with ground (4-wire cable), right?

You are correct.
__________________
scottstribling is online now
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-31-2012, 02:45 AM   #9
-TH-
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Zeeland, Michigan
Posts: 969
Liked 57 Times on 33 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Fyi the reason for the big difference in price is because the spa panel's gfci disconnect switch is not an over-current protection device (i.e. circuit breaker). But like the others said, you're fine because of the breaker in your main panel.

__________________
TH

Builds, etc: E-Brewery | Fermentation Chamber | Concrete-Roller Mill | Stirplate | Bottle Cabinet | Pneumatic Bottle Capper
Resources: www.EZWaterCalculator.com
-TH- is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-31-2012, 02:59 AM   #10
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,231
Liked 244 Times on 196 Posts
Likes Given: 430

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by -TH- View Post
Fyi the reason for the big difference in price is because the spa panel's gfci disconnect switch is not an over-current protection device (i.e. circuit breaker). But like the others said, you're fine because of the breaker in your main panel.
Hmmmm....

The Spa Panel GFCI breaker is indeed both a GFCI breaker AND an over current breaker rated @ 50A.
__________________
P-J is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
gfci question Melvin Electric Brewing 4 10-26-2012 02:08 AM
Inline gfci post gfci breaker Squeeky Electric Brewing 2 05-24-2012 08:26 PM
GFCI 30 amp cords extinct? Question on GFCI breaker too... jdlev Electric Brewing 23 07-26-2011 01:01 AM
GFCI question Nail Electric Brewing 7 06-10-2011 05:54 PM
GFCI Question enid DIY Projects 15 02-14-2010 09:48 PM