Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > gfci and fuse
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-06-2011, 03:35 AM   #1
dylan6668
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Montréal
Posts: 36
Likes Given: 1

Default gfci and fuse

I'm planing to build an electric system and i've read a lot about my options here. I've decided to go for now with a simple design, one pid with ssr, one element and some fancy switches.

I have two questions that I can't find a clear answer for in the search:

A GFCI inline is my option, because it's not my home and I don't want to mess with the breaker panel. It would also make it useful if I move. I can't seem to find the kind of gfci cord mentioned by theelectricbrewery.com. Also, I can't find a spa panel that is affordable in canada. So, I guess I have to go with a custom box with a 30A 2 poles gfci breaker?

If that's an option, here's what i've found:

http://www.ebay.ca/itm/260597661396?...#ht_500wt_1156

http://www.ebay.ca/itm/370499086723?...#ht_500wt_1156

http://www.ebay.ca/itm/220845449935?...#ht_1511wt_907

http://www.ebay.ca/itm/qo-GFI-2-pole...#ht_1548wt_907
(broken?)

Can someone tell me if one of those would work, and if yes, which one is the best?

And for my second question, i see in that diagram that it's advised to use fuses and resistors in the circuit: http://www.pjmuth.org/beerstuff/imag...w-BIAB-30d.jpg

What do those look like on a circuit? Don't really know what to search for.

Well thanks in advance!

__________________
dylan6668 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-06-2011, 06:55 AM   #2
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,257
Liked 250 Times on 201 Posts
Likes Given: 441

Default

There is a HomeDepot in Montreal. Just order this GE 50 Amp 240-Volt Spa Panel to be picked up at your store and you will be good to go.

__________________
P-J is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-06-2011, 08:40 PM   #3
eric_pwb
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Regina, Saskatchewan
Posts: 89
Default

I was not aware you could purchase that in Canada. It isn't listed on home depot Canada's website, and when I asked in store I was told they could not get it.. American home depot only... Although YMMV

__________________
eric_pwb is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-07-2011, 02:30 PM   #4
dylan6668
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Montréal
Posts: 36
Likes Given: 1

Default

Yeah I'll check tomorrow, but I have a feeling it won't work

__________________
dylan6668 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-07-2011, 05:37 PM   #5
dylan6668
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Montréal
Posts: 36
Likes Given: 1

Default

Nope, they cannot order it. What are my options?

__________________
dylan6668 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-07-2011, 06:34 PM   #6
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,257
Liked 250 Times on 201 Posts
Likes Given: 441

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dylan6668 View Post
Nope, they cannot order it. What are my options?
3:
Contact a friend in the US and have them ship one to you.
Buy a GFCI breaker that will fit your mains panel and then have an electrician make a dedicated run to an outlet in your brewery area. (BUT - it's not your place and doing that becomes a real problem.)
See if you can locate an inline GFCI power cord to power your rig.

I firmly believe it would be Huge mistake to run an electric powered brewery without GFCI protection.

And your other question:
Quote:
And for my second question, i see in that diagram that it's advised to use fuses and resistors in the circuit:
http://www.pjmuth.org/beerstuff/imag...w-BIAB-30d.jpg
What do those look like on a circuit? Don't really know what to search for.
You might want to read this topic.
http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f170/sug...roller-249400/
The resistor and fuse setup is illustrated in the thread. jsguitar did an excellent job of documenting his build.

Wishing you the best.

P-J
__________________
P-J is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-07-2011, 08:39 PM   #7
dylan6668
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Montréal
Posts: 36
Likes Given: 1

Default

Yes thanks, I think it's a good idea to have one too.
Maybe one cord will pop online sometime

But I have an electrician in my family, could I ask him to rig one of those breaker in a separate panel? Isn't the spa panel that anyway?

__________________

Last edited by dylan6668; 09-07-2011 at 08:50 PM.
dylan6668 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-07-2011, 09:18 PM   #8
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,257
Liked 250 Times on 201 Posts
Likes Given: 441

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dylan6668 View Post
Yes thanks, I think it's a good idea to have one too.
Maybe one cord will pop online sometime

But I have an electrician in my family, could I ask him to rig one of those breaker in a separate panel? Isn't the spa panel that anyway?
You can certainly do that or have him get a GFCI breaker that fits in your mains panel and then provide a protected outlet for you for your brewery.

On the other hand, I would think that there must be a Spa Panel available to purchase in your area. Hunt it down and if you find one on the net, send me a link & I'll give you a wiring setup for it.

You might be lucky with a family electrician. Ask and follow his advice. Questions.. - Please feel free to ask me.

Wishing you the best.

P-J

Help me help you. Please...
__________________
P-J is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-07-2011, 09:52 PM   #9
dylan6668
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Montréal
Posts: 36
Likes Given: 1

Default

Thanks, I appreciate your help, Ill keep you in the loop.

__________________
dylan6668 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Do I really need a GFCI if.. Yorg Electric Brewing 10 07-27-2011 11:18 PM
GFCI 30 amp cords extinct? Question on GFCI breaker too... jdlev Electric Brewing 23 07-26-2011 01:01 AM
GFCI and etc. aperk Electric Brewing 8 06-05-2011 11:39 PM
Gfci? rod734 Electric Brewing 9 04-26-2011 04:48 PM
Do I need a fuse?? Dgonza9 Electric Brewing 4 11-29-2010 03:47 AM