Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > GFCI cheap

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-03-2011, 05:48 AM   #21
eric_pwb
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Regina, Saskatchewan
Posts: 89
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bernie Brewer View Post
Um, if you DON'T use a GFCI, then your system is neither well thought out nor properly constructed. Period.
I am NOT saying that a gfi is not a good idea, or that it has not saved many people from a good jolt, or much much worse. What I am saying is that one can go a long way to protecting one self using common sense and quality workmanship. For instance there should be no denying that this:




is far safer than this:




In either situation a gfi is most certainly a very good idea, and I know that I am not the first one here to talk about not using, or not use a gfi in their system.. And I do already have one of the units mentioned by the OP on order and will be using a listed relay..
__________________
eric_pwb is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-05-2011, 07:11 PM   #22
jdlev
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Charlotte
Posts: 667
Liked 11 Times on 7 Posts
Likes Given: 9

Default

I'm thinking about getting one of those 20amp GFCI's and running it to my 50amp 240 spa breaker. Is it going to screw this up because the 50amp breaker is running to a 20amp GFCI?

__________________
Hob Knob Brewery
jdlev is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-05-2011, 07:57 PM   #23
Walker
I use secondaries. :p
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Walker's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 11,235
Liked 72 Times on 64 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdlev
I'm thinking about getting one of those 20amp GFCI's and running it to my 50amp 240 spa breaker. Is it going to screw this up because the 50amp breaker is running to a 20amp GFCI?
What "20amp GFCI" are you talking about?
__________________
Ground Fault Brewing Co.
Walker is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-05-2011, 08:06 PM   #24
jdlev
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Charlotte
Posts: 667
Liked 11 Times on 7 Posts
Likes Given: 9

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Walker View Post
What "20amp GFCI" are you talking about?
Hey Walk...the one everyone's recommending on ebay for $20
__________________
Hob Knob Brewery
jdlev is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-05-2011, 08:13 PM   #25
Walker
I use secondaries. :p
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Walker's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 11,235
Liked 72 Times on 64 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdlev

Hey Walk...the one everyone's recommending on ebay for $20
I guess I am missing where the 20amp comes in. That listing is for an 80a GFCI donut.
__________________
Ground Fault Brewing Co.
Walker is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-05-2011, 09:17 PM   #26
jdlev
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Charlotte
Posts: 667
Liked 11 Times on 7 Posts
Likes Given: 9

Default

It says it's rated at 20amp in the description? I'm not sure what the 80a means?

__________________
Hob Knob Brewery
jdlev is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-06-2011, 12:11 AM   #27
Nail
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Mishawaka, Indiana
Posts: 49
Liked 4 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Used by itself the GFCI is only rated at 20a and 120v. Since most of use will be using it with a 240v system, it requires a contactor relay which when used together, it can be rated up to 80a depending on the relay used. I personally ordered a 30a contactor relay since that is what everything else is rated at for my system

__________________

Neil

Primary: Hefeweizen
Kegged: Gumballhead Clone

Just getting set up to do All-Grain and kegging.

Nail is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-06-2011, 02:07 PM   #28
jdlev
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Charlotte
Posts: 667
Liked 11 Times on 7 Posts
Likes Given: 9

Default

All this electrical stuff is greek to me What the heck is a relay that up's the amperage the GFCI can handle? Can you tell me what exactly I need to add to the end of the wire (outlet, relay, etc) to get an idea of how to make this thing work?

I guess I have to learn sometime, might as well be now! Thanks for the help so far!

__________________
Hob Knob Brewery
jdlev is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-06-2011, 03:12 PM   #29
Walker
I use secondaries. :p
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Walker's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 11,235
Liked 72 Times on 64 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Default

Deleted response explaining how it can do 20A by iteself, or more when used with an internal relay because that seems to be BS.

The seller's description is NOT accurate based on what am reading in the manufacturer's document.
__________________
Ground Fault Brewing Co.
Walker is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-06-2011, 03:16 PM   #30
Walker
I use secondaries. :p
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Walker's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 11,235
Liked 72 Times on 64 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Walker View Post
Ok.. so the way it works is that...

Ok.. so having written that, I don't think this "20A" rating that is mentioned in the listing is accurate at all.

I am looking at the freaking manufacturer's documentation and it says that the GFCI load terminals on the module itself are rated for "0.6A max".

so... f#ck that seller's description. I don't yet see anything in the manufacturer's document that indicates that it can handle 20A.
__________________
Ground Fault Brewing Co.
Walker is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gfci? rod734 Electric Brewing 9 04-26-2011 04:48 PM
Odd GFCI Connections? ScubaSteve Electric Brewing 48 04-06-2011 01:20 PM
Is this the right kind of GFCI? wh4tig0t Electric Brewing 11 03-24-2011 11:03 PM
GFCI wiring? ExHempKnight Electric Brewing 5 10-23-2010 08:53 PM