Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway - Enter Now!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Electrical Primer for Brewers

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-25-2010, 02:03 AM   #121
mattd2
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Papamoa, New Zealand
Posts: 3,433
Liked 242 Times on 198 Posts
Likes Given: 42

Default

Hey CodeRage, thanks for putting all this great info on here. One question I have is I recall having heard about sizing wire that for continuos loads you should only plan to draw 80% (don't quote that, I think thats what I heard) of the current that the wire can handle for intermitent loads (again can't really remember what how long you have to leave something on for to be classed continuos load). So if a wire is good for 20 amps intermitent you should only run 16 amps continous.
your advice?

__________________
mattd2 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-25-2010, 02:15 AM   #122
CodeRage
Death by Magumba!
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
CodeRage's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Melbourne, Fl
Posts: 2,254
Liked 29 Times on 16 Posts
Likes Given: 5

Default

The continuous load rule applies when the load is above 80% in excess of 4 (maybe it was 7?) hours at a time. It's usually applied to lighting circuits that are on for an entire business day. For our breweries it doesn't apply. It isn't a bad practice, but we don't need to strictly adhere to it.

EDIT - It's 3 hours, thanks BrewBeamer!

__________________
Brutus 20e build | Electrical Primer for Brewers | Auber SYL-2362A2 PID Install & Config
So as I am walking out the door this morning I think to my self:
"self, going to work on Monday is like knowing you're going to get kicked in the nuts. You just don't know when or by who"
CodeRage is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-25-2010, 02:27 AM   #123
mattd2
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Papamoa, New Zealand
Posts: 3,433
Liked 242 Times on 198 Posts
Likes Given: 42

Default

Thanks (and thanks again since I need to type more than 10 characters)

__________________
mattd2 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-14-2010, 03:05 AM   #124
pickles
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
pickles's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Columbus
Posts: 1,976
Liked 48 Times on 40 Posts
Likes Given: 23

Default

For a 240V heating element circuit, do I need to put a fuse on both hot legs. I have 3 elements and six SSR's (one for each leg). I am guessing I need to put a 25A fuse on each hot leg since I am using 4500W elements. I have another question. I know I have to protect the "hot" wires with fuses when I step down to a smaller gauge, but do I have to protect the neutral wire when I step it down in size? I enters the brew rig's panel as 6 ga wire with 50A supplied to it, I only need to use it for two 1/3 HP pumps and a 12V power supply.

__________________
pickles is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-16-2010, 01:15 AM   #125
TriangleIL
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Chicago
Posts: 267
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Excuse my ignorance... electricity is something I know NOTHING about.

I went out and purchased a 3 prong, 30A cable and outlets today to put into my future control box. On the package for the outlets, it says "Not for grounded use except with Dryers or Stoves per the NEC code". It also says the 3 wires should be hot, hot, neutral.

Question, can I just use the 3rd wire safely as ground since I have complete control over what wire is what in my cable? I am using this to connect my control panel to my BK element.

Thanks!

__________________
TriangleIL is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-16-2010, 02:40 AM   #126
passedpawn
Waste Allocation Load Lifter - Earth Class
HBT_MODERATOR.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
passedpawn's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: ☼ Clearwater, FL ☼
Posts: 18,583
Liked 3184 Times on 1990 Posts
Likes Given: 2712

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TriangleIL View Post
Excuse my ignorance... electricity is something I know NOTHING about.I went out and purchased a 3 prong, 30A cable and outlets today to put into my future control box.
That's sorta scarey.
__________________
What Would Vermeer Paint?
passedpawn is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-15-2010, 03:11 PM   #127
EarthBound
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Beer Capital of the World
Posts: 984
Liked 10 Times on 9 Posts
Likes Given: 84

Default

Excellent work, rage! Thanks for writing it up. I will be using it for years to come.

This really needs to be a sticky for one important reason: safety. Question, why isn't it a sticky?

__________________

"You can do anything you set your mind to when you have vision, determination, and an endless supply of beer."

EarthBound is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-25-2010, 11:38 PM   #128
soGGy
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Boulder Co
Posts: 29
Default

Great sticky! Thanks for the writeup, very helpful!

__________________
soGGy is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-26-2010, 06:35 AM   #129
BrewBeemer
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: an island, inside an atoll
Posts: 3,504
Liked 20 Times on 20 Posts
Likes Given: 7

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TriangleIL View Post
Excuse my ignorance... electricity is something I know NOTHING about.
No worries, if you can't find it it'll find you.
__________________
BrewBeemer is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-09-2011, 01:49 AM   #130
big_al_in_k-zoo
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Kalamazoo, Michigan
Posts: 244
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

I've got a question. Are "time Delay" fuses the same as "Slow Blow" fuses? thanks

__________________
big_al_in_k-zoo is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DME as primer prrriiide Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 1 10-01-2009 10:15 PM
not enough primer? fightingswede Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 2 06-02-2009 02:39 PM
primer JDengler Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 3 02-22-2009 07:26 AM
how much dme for primer? Spot29er General Techniques 3 01-25-2009 02:08 AM
DME primer McCuckerson General Beer Discussion 7 12-01-2008 09:11 PM