Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Last Sponsor Giveaway of the Year!

Come Enter the BrewDeals/FastFerment Giveaway!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Electrical Primer for Brewers
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-13-2010, 01:29 AM   #101
skarude
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: PA
Posts: 117
Default

I am a bit confused with your statement that I would draw less power with lower volts. The way I understand it to determine what the element will draw you divide its wattage by the voltage. So a 4500W element at 240V will draw 18.75A but the same element run at 212V will draw more like 21A. I could be wrong, but that is how I understand it.

I have some 10/3 cables so I may go with them and purchase some L6-30 plugs to replace the L5-30s that are on them. The 20A 240V cables I have are very nice with molded plugs so it would be nice to use them I am just afraid it will be a but more current than I should load them with.

__________________
skarude is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-13-2010, 02:09 AM   #102
skarude
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: PA
Posts: 117
Default

Ok I answered my own question in this thread over here. Looks like the element rating goes down at a lower wattage so the draw would be lower too.

__________________
skarude is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-13-2010, 02:15 AM   #103
Mista_Sparkle
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Aurora, Illinois
Posts: 397
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

well, a heating element is a resistive load. You are given a wattage rating at a specified voltage. from here you can determine the resistance of the element. The resistance is a constant, unlike the voltage, and therefore the amperage and wattage.

__________________
Primary #1+Auxiliary: Burning River Pale Ale clone
Primary #2: empty
Primary #3: EdWorts Apfelwein #4
Conditioning/Drinking:Brewers Best Belgian Tripel, Apfelwein #3, EdWorts Apfelwein #2, Cranapple Wine, Routers Share Network Closet Strong Scotch Ale, McCormack's Old Malt Oatmeal Stout
Mista_Sparkle is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-13-2010, 03:53 AM   #104
BrewBeemer
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: island, in an atoll
Posts: 3,511
Liked 21 Times on 21 Posts
Likes Given: 7

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CodeRage View Post
Personally, I would prefer a sing 240v 4 wire service instead of using two circuits.
A hell of a lot safer also coming from one power source.
People can get hurt when they pull power from different outlets, scares the hell out of me just thinking about this.
__________________

Bier Jagdwaffe... Bier 30 zeit.....~~=o&o>..........

BrewBeemer is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-16-2010, 02:20 PM   #105
TBLbrewer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: N.E. Indiana
Posts: 204
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

This is great info. I'm planning an all electric rig, and will reread this multiple times before wiring it.

__________________
TBLbrewer is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-12-2010, 03:38 AM   #106
CorgiBrew
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Twin Cities, Land of 10k Lakes (count 'em!)
Posts: 118
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default GFCI Question

I know a lot of people run 2 hots, a neutral and a ground to their control panels, but then go 2 hots and a ground to their heater elements. Does a GFCI breaker do you any good with a short at the keggle end of things when you are wired this way? My electrician says no, which makes sense to me. Unless you are splitting your power to 240/120 somewhere along the way, is there any reason to run four wires to you control panel and use a GFCI breaker?

[I moved this question to a new thread: Heating Elements and GFCI]

__________________

CorgiBrew is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-20-2010, 01:57 AM   #107
beerocd
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 698
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

Default

OK my turn. Temporary brewery relo into the garage where there is a 3 wire 240 home run to the panel. Can I branch a nearby ground? I have read about why not to borrow a neutral from a separate circuit, but grounds should never be energized except in a "situation". Would this be acceptable? It is 12ga and no more than a couple of feet away. I will need to use the green wire which is home run as the "white" I'll color code it with some fancy electrician tape.
Answer in any tone you'd like - so long as you're correct.
Thanks!


PS - I have the portable 240 GFCI cord off ebay; so safe there.

__________________

Due to recent economic crisis, stock market crash, budget cuts, and the rising cost of everything including taxes: "The Light at the End of The Tunnel" has been turned off.

beerocd is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-02-2010, 12:02 PM   #108
fujieagle
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: usa
Posts: 236
Liked 15 Times on 11 Posts
Likes Given: 18

Default

All I can really say is thanks for this thread and all the info.

__________________
fujieagle is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-22-2010, 04:17 PM   #109
pickles
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
pickles's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Columbus
Posts: 2,004
Liked 48 Times on 40 Posts
Likes Given: 23

Default

If have am supplying 240v to a 5500 watt heating element in my RIMS with 10 AWG wire can I ground the elements "electrical box" enclosure to the keggle wall with 12 AWG or does it have to be the same gauge as the supply? I'm not potting my elements like others, but instead have modified a watertight aluminum electrical box to house the business end of the element.

__________________
pickles is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-22-2010, 06:29 PM   #110
CodeRage
Death by Magumba!
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
CodeRage's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Melbourne, Fl
Posts: 2,254
Liked 33 Times on 18 Posts
Likes Given: 5

Default

Needs to be of the same gauge.

__________________
Brutus 20e build | Electrical Primer for Brewers | Auber SYL-2362A2 PID Install & Config
So as I am walking out the door this morning I think to my self:
"self, going to work on Monday is like knowing you're going to get kicked in the nuts. You just don't know when or by who"
CodeRage is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DME as primer prrriiide Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 1 10-01-2009 11:15 PM
not enough primer? fightingswede Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 2 06-02-2009 03:39 PM
primer JDengler Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 3 02-22-2009 08:26 AM
how much dme for primer? Spot29er General Techniques 3 01-25-2009 03:08 AM
DME primer McCuckerson General Beer Discussion 7 12-01-2008 10:11 PM



Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS