Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Electric brewing without a Control Panel??

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-07-2011, 03:59 PM   #1
staab016
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Electric brewing without a Control Panel??

I'm very new to brewing having only 4 extract batches and 1 partial mash batch under my belt. I’ve been admiring Kal’s brewery and others for a while now, and am interested in creating my own once I get some brewing, electrical knowledge, and money under my belt.

I would like to keep extract brewing while I’m saving up for the mash tun, HLT, Control Panel, pumps, chillers, ventilation, etc... Is there a SAFE way to control the temperature for steeping grains and partial mashes without making the splurge for the Control Panel (which I plan to do eventually, just can’t right away)? I imagine I can plug the element in and it would get me to a boil pretty quick, but I’d like to have the ability to keep it at certain temps without having to convince my fiancé that I need a $1500 Control Panel…

I’m sorry if this has been answered (I searched, I swear!), or is a dumb question – I’m still learning and reading as much as I can to make sure my set up is as safe as possible…

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-07-2011, 04:11 PM   #2
brewmcq
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 498 Times on 343 Posts
Likes Given: 2703

The short answer is "no"... or "not really".

I asked this somewhere else, and the basic answer was something to the effect of it's not a good thing to be plugging and unplugging the element... hence the relays, which do it for you.

Because of this, my electric brewery has been placed on semi-hold until I can get the basic stuff together.

Oh.. it was also recommended that you not use a circuit breaker as your on/off switch as well.

YMMV.