Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Last Sponsor Giveaway of the Year!

Come Enter the BrewDeals/FastFerment Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Ekeggle amperage question

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-02-2011, 06:44 PM   #11
passedpawn
Waste Allocation Load Lifter - Earth Class
HBT_MODERATOR.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 3624 Times on 2233 Posts
Likes Given: 3127

I have been using 25A SSRs (Crydom) for 2 years. 240VAC, 5500W elements. No problem. I have an excellent heat sink, though, not one of those smallish chinese black ones. 0.7°C/W.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-02-2011, 09:05 PM   #12
Walker
I use secondaries. :p
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 86 Times on 77 Posts
Likes Given: 11

When I was building my system, ebay didn't have as many options as it does now.

I could have gotten a 25A SSR+heatsink for $15 or a 40A SSR+heatsinck for.... $15.

I decided to get the 40A since it was literally the exact same price, and if I ever wanted to go over 5500W, I would be able to do it without necessarily getting new SSR.

Old 03-02-2011, 09:13 PM   #13
gunner65
Recipes 

Liked 15 Times on 12 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Quote:
Originally Posted by BenS View Post
I'm an engineer by trade and believe there is a proper tool for every job. Doesn't make sense to me that they would produce a 25A SSR that isn't capable of handling a 25A continous load for the duration of its shelf life.

I apologize, I think I just talked myself into using the 25A SSR. I hope I did not come across as rude bruin ale.
Go on and run that race car in the red. Oh and speaking from experience these bad boys only last a short time without proper ventilation. The fact that you will be pushing the 25a to near maximum operation everytime you use it will most likely decrease its life span. Like Walker and others said before the price is nearly the same for either why not take the more robust one?