Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > eHERMS MLT build

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-01-2013, 11:54 PM   #1
bisctboy
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Likes Given: 1

Default eHERMS HLT build

I just completed the first part of my electric brewery, the eHERMS HLT, and I thought I'd post some pictures and step-by-step instructions in case somebody may need some help or inspiration with their build in the future. I am by no means an expert on the subject and have never built a HERMS system, but I'm proud of how the HLT turned out. My current setup is a 5 gal SS pot, 8 gal SS pot, DIY built igloo 10 gal MLT, and a propabe turkey fryer. I'll probably build the boil keggle next and keep using the igloo MLT for a batch or two.

The first thing I did was to make a jig to cut out the top of the keg. Attached is a picture of the Sketchup model and the jig itself. A 2" hole saw was used as the pivot. I attached my angle grinder to the jig with a couple clamps and rotated around the top until it was cut off. The internet is full of sites that show how to do this...

keggle-jig.jpg
img_20131124_150448997_hdr.jpg

The next thing I did was to make a jig to put my keg in for various things like drilling out the holes, cleaning off the adhesive residue from the stickers, and just generally making it very easy to work on during the build. The jig held the keg firmly in place as I work on it. It can be made with a single 2X4 and was the best $2.84 I spent on this build! Below is the Sketchup plan as well as a picture of the finished jig.

keg-brace.jpg
img_20131126_163222558.jpg