New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermenter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > e-Brewery Control Panel Project/Conversion from Propane to Electric

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-09-2012, 02:49 PM   #1
stlbeer
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 31 Times on 30 Posts
Likes Given: 71

Default e-Brewery Control Panel Project/Conversion from Propane to Electric

Hi all,

I'm converting my propane/electric RIMS hybrid to an all electric, 220V eBrewery. I've been reading through the control panel builds, reviewing P-J's schematics (top notch work there!) and slowly putting my thoughts together.

I've been brewing for over 5 years and have put together several RIMS systems built up in an ammo can controlling a pump and SS RIMS tube using a PID. That experience has given me the confidence to move ahead with the planning phase of the project.

My first major score is this fiberglass electrical box that will be my control panel.

I have a good friend who is an electrician who located this for me for FREE! It will be a bit challenging working around the holes in the door, but I think many of those can be reused. It's 12 x 18 x 8 and should be big enough to handle everything I'll need.

I have access to 50A so I'll have him bring in that much to my garage via 50A Spa panel to give me GFI protection. I want to be able to run both the eHLT (220v) and RIMS tube (120v) at the same time. I would also like to run the eBK at the same time. This would rarely occur, but could if I was doing a double batch.

I think that puts me pretty close to the limit since my RIMS tube draws about 11.5A and the 5500w/220v elements for the eHLT and eBK each draw 23A. I will need an extra circuit for the 120v.

P-J,