HBT 2014 Big Giveaway - 4/10 Re-Draw Winners Posted!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Do I really need a GFCI if..




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-27-2011, 10:57 AM   #1
Yorg
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 167
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default Do I really need a GFCI if..

I have a GFCI on my powerboard at the front of the house for the whole house, how do I benefit from having another one next to my brewing equipment, as some people recommend?
Is it a scientific, or sub-rational "another wouldn't hurt" thing?



__________________
Yorg is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-27-2011, 04:35 PM   #2
rollinred
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Traverse City, MI
Posts: 328
Liked 10 Times on 7 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

You need a GFCI somewhere on the line. It could be in the form of the breaker in your box or the outlet where you plug in to or anywhere in between as long as the line you are getting you power from is GFCI protected.



__________________
rollinred is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-27-2011, 04:44 PM   #3
IrregularPulse
Hobby Collector
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
IrregularPulse's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 41,115
Liked 2729 Times on 2680 Posts
Likes Given: 99

Default

Your entire house is on one large 100-200 Amp GFCI breaker ?

__________________
Tap Room Hobo

I should have stuck to four fingers in Vegas. :o - marubozo
IrregularPulse is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-27-2011, 04:52 PM   #4
RDWHAHB
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Denver
Posts: 834
Liked 13 Times on 11 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

I'm guessing a whole house GFCI trips at a much higher stray current that a good individual breaker/outlet/etc. Otherwise the nuisance tripping might be too much with the variety of loads. Also, how often do you test it? They need regular testing.

__________________
RDWHAHB is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-27-2011, 05:07 PM   #5
emjay
Lacto- and pediophile
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
 
emjay's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 12,692
Liked 1711 Times on 1600 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

So uh, one thing trips the GFCI and you lose power to the entire house? That sounds bizarre, but I'm guessing it'd take a lot more to trip that than a GFCI outlet or breaker, out of obvious necessity, and as a result not conferring the same level of protection.

These things are inexpensive enough that I don't think it's worth taking on even the tiniest bit of extra risk to save that money, especially considering what's at risk.

__________________
emjay is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-27-2011, 06:50 PM   #6
Loptr
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: SLC, SLC UTard
Posts: 28
Default

Are you positive its not a circut breaker instead of a GFCI?

__________________
Loptr is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-27-2011, 07:15 PM   #7
jkarp
Beer Herder
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
jkarp's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Elizabeth, CO
Posts: 2,103
Liked 31 Times on 27 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yorg View Post
I have a GFCI on my powerboard at the front of the house for the whole house, how do I benefit from having another one next to my brewing equipment, as some people recommend?
Is it a scientific, or sub-rational "another wouldn't hurt" thing?
I suspect what you've got is a whole-house surge suppressor at the panel - not GFCI.
__________________

Many Bothans died to bring you this information.

jkarp is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-27-2011, 09:14 PM   #8
Maxkling
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 479
Liked 8 Times on 6 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jkarp View Post
I suspect what you've got is a whole-house surge suppressor at the panel - not GFCI.
Beat me to it, its becoming pretty standard now-a-days.
__________________

"It’s so simple to be wise. Just think of something stupid to say and then don’t say it."

"Gun Control Means Using Both Hands."

Maxkling is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-27-2011, 10:42 PM   #9
japhroaig
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Eugene Oregon
Posts: 365
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

regardless, a gfci on your outlet is a lot closer walk than to your panel. oh, and +1 to Maxkling and jkarp.

__________________
Blog http://cheeseaday.blogspot.com
Conicals House Trippel, Wee Heavy
Kegs Juggling Geese Ale, Effed Up Mild, Fils Wheat Ale

Team Nottingham Yeast!
japhroaig is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-27-2011, 11:14 PM   #10
Yorg
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 167
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

Thanks guys



__________________
Yorg is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GFCI 30 amp cords extinct? Question on GFCI breaker too... jdlev Electric Brewing 23 07-26-2011 01:01 AM
GFCI and etc. aperk Electric Brewing 8 06-05-2011 11:39 PM
Gfci? rod734 Electric Brewing 9 04-26-2011 04:48 PM
Odd GFCI Connections? ScubaSteve Electric Brewing 48 04-06-2011 01:20 PM



Newest Threads