Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Distribution block, what to get?

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-15-2011, 07:13 AM   #11
blackalice82
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lschiavo View Post
Nice find.
__________________
blackalice82 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-15-2011, 03:27 PM   #12
Monster Mash
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Castaic, CA
Posts: 1,322
Liked 85 Times on 66 Posts
Likes Given: 12

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lschiavo View Post
Looks nice. Any issues using the back plate as the heat sink for the ssr's?
There is a heat sink behind the plate but the SSR's don't really get hot.
__________________
My 1BBL Brewery Pics
Monster Mash is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-16-2011, 05:07 PM   #13
bruin_ale
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Campbell, CA
Posts: 1,433
Liked 15 Times on 15 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Walker View Post
I chose to use modular DIN rail mounted terminal blocks for my power distribution. They were cheaper than the big brick type distribution blocks and gave me the flexibility of adding more modules later if I need to.

My entire 50A distribution block (ground + two hots + neutral) cost me about $8 or so.

I put links to the pieces and parts I used, all from mouser.com, in this post
I used the same ones, but bought mine from factorymation... darn, wish I'd seen your post before I bought mine cuz factorymation only sells full boxes of terminal blocks. I can build about 3 more control panels with the supply I've got. I may sell some on here to recoup some of the cost.. I have a BCS controlling the whole thing, so I may end up building another panel for my serving and fermentation temps, nice to have extra on hand for that.
bruin_ale is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-16-2011, 05:20 PM   #14
rcm_rx7
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Moscow, ID
Posts: 191
Liked 6 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bbognerks View Post
I would get 30 Amp rated ones. Radio shack sells terminal strips that are supposedly 20 amps, but they look wimpy compared to the 30 amp strips I got from Home Depot.
If I were only those terminal strips for one phase of the 240v system would the amperage going through still be the total of what I'm using (~24a at %100). I would use two terminal strips, one for each phase, so does that effectively cut the amperage on each phase in half?
__________________
Fermenting: Centennial Blonde
On Deck: Haven't decided
Kegged: IIPA, Mac & Jacks Clone, American Barleywine
Fermentation Chamber Project
rcm_rx7 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-16-2011, 05:34 PM   #15
bruin_ale
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Campbell, CA
Posts: 1,433
Liked 15 Times on 15 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rcm_rx7 View Post
If I were only those terminal strips for one phase of the 240v system would the amperage going through still be the total of what I'm using (~24a at %100). I would use two terminal strips, one for each phase, so does that effectively cut the amperage on each phase in half?
No, the current going across each one is still 24a. Suppose you had a 5500W element - that would draw ~23A at 240v. That's being supplied by two phases of 120V. So each one would need to supply 2750W.

2750W/120v = ~23A
bruin_ale is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-16-2011, 06:31 PM   #16
rcm_rx7
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Moscow, ID
Posts: 191
Liked 6 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Ok, that makes sense. Thanks for clearing it up!

__________________
Fermenting: Centennial Blonde
On Deck: Haven't decided
Kegged: IIPA, Mac & Jacks Clone, American Barleywine
Fermentation Chamber Project
rcm_rx7 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools