Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Did I order the wrong RTD?

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-21-2013, 11:46 PM   #1
lustreking
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Bethlehem, PA
Posts: 750
Liked 18 Times on 17 Posts
Likes Given: 6

Default Did I order the wrong RTD?

I want to replace the K-type thermocouple in my eHERMS with an RTD, so I ordered this guy.

After I bought it, I saw the temperature range 50º-100ºC. The 100º is fine, but what happens below 50º (122ºF)?

__________________

My brewing site:
http://brewing.lustreking.com

lustreking is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-22-2013, 12:16 AM   #2
JRems
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Mahopac, NY
Posts: 2,229
Liked 58 Times on 50 Posts
Likes Given: 9

Default

I would wait untill you get it. It's probably fine. I think the seller can't translate to English well. In the description it says in one part pt100 and another part a k type probe.

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bobby_M View Post
Simcoe smells like 10 cats pissing on a pine tree. It's awesome.
JRems is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-22-2013, 01:35 AM   #3
ryane
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 779
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts

Default

Yah I dunno about the K-type listing, it definitely looks like an RTD (the 3wires)

Ive used thermocouples outside their working range and they dont read the temp correctly (non-linear range) Im guessing that it would be the same for an RTD, but like Jrems said try it out when you get it, I mean you already ordered it afterall

even then, how often do you care about temps lower than 122F? the only point i could think about would be chilling, but you could always add an analog thermometer to your kettle

ryane is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-22-2013, 11:43 AM   #4
aquenne
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Paris, Ontario
Posts: 226
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 6

Default

I dont think the seller knows what he is selling.

PT100 is what you want. This means at 0degC the resistance is 100 ohm, and it scales proportionally up to 100 deg C (I believe the resistance is around 180 ohm @ 100degC). Anyway, you should be fine! You will be able to measure below 50 C

__________________
aquenne is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-01-2013, 04:33 PM   #5
GuernzWeed
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Jackson, MI
Posts: 9
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

lustreking what was your experience with using k type thermocouple in your build? Also what is the reason your changing to RTD. I'm putting together an eHerms build and have access to k type thermocouple probes.

__________________
GuernzWeed is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-01-2013, 05:24 PM   #6
lustreking
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Bethlehem, PA
Posts: 750
Liked 18 Times on 17 Posts
Likes Given: 6

Default

K thermocouple came with my PID so that's why I used it at first. It worked fine for a while, but the cable eventually developed an intermittent short. Because of this, I wanted to switch to a more durable, more flexible, and replaceable cable.

__________________

My brewing site:
http://brewing.lustreking.com

lustreking is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-01-2013, 05:46 PM   #7
GuernzWeed
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Jackson, MI
Posts: 9
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

Thanks lustreking. I work with thermocouple daily and if you had solid core wire you were probably experiencing a broken wire. The solid core wire is unpleasant to work with especially if there's a lot flexing. So you had no temp accuracy issues affecting your brew.

__________________
GuernzWeed is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-01-2013, 07:02 PM   #8
lustreking
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Bethlehem, PA
Posts: 750
Liked 18 Times on 17 Posts
Likes Given: 6

Default

Yes, it was solid core wire. I don't think that I had any trouble with temperature when it was working.

__________________

My brewing site:
http://brewing.lustreking.com

lustreking is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Added the wrong hops at the wrong time Kevbot Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 23 02-04-2014 03:16 AM
Where to order from Mojzis General Beer Discussion 20 09-02-2012 12:01 AM
What did I do wrong, or what is wrong with my setup? Opus_X All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing 8 04-03-2012 01:58 AM
Wrong hops, wrong time. Any ideas? DansBrew Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 12 11-28-2009 11:38 PM
Always the wrong place wrong time OHIOSTEVE Wine Making Forum 7 10-04-2009 07:07 PM