Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Cost of Energy Experiment

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-21-2012, 04:56 PM   #1
Jps101
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 4 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default Cost of Energy Experiment

Cost of Energy to Produce 5 gallon batch:

Let me set the stage for you. I love the idea of converting my system over to electricity. As I read the posts on this site I am amazed at some of the backgrounds on here, Mechanical Engineers, Electrical Engineers, Chemists and the list goes on. My background is finance…in other words part of the fun in this hobby for me is the cost of things and how can I produce something as cost efficiently as possible. I think we would all agree once we start adding our respective incomes on an hourly basis – the cost of goods sold line in the income statement would change dramatically. Nonetheless, this thought process led me down the rabbit hole to see if I could try and figure out the economic viability of changing my system over to electric to bring my cost per beer down. Might also serve as an argument to the wife why I should spend 2k upgrading service, equipment, etc. Enough of the background, let me get on with the experiment.
Some of the base information: I live in Southern California, which means my electric service comes from Southern California Edison, my Natural Gas service comes from So Cal Gas and my propane is provided by Camping World just down the street.

Current Cost of Energy:
1 kWh from SCE = $0.21 (average cost over the tiers that we use)
1 Therm of Natural Gas = $0.72/.85 (NG is 15% less efficient than propane) = $0.85 (rounded up)
1 Therm of Propane = $3.34 (1 gallon of Propane = 91k BTU’s @ $3.67 gallon / 100k)

A few quick conversions of kWh to therms:
1 kWh = 3,414 BTU’s: 100k BTU’s = 1 therm: 100k/3,413 = 29.3 kWh: 29.3 kWh = 1 therm

Step One: Conversion to standard measure of energy cost