The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Controller question

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-04-2011, 01:05 PM   #1
bowhuntah
Registered User
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Windham, Maine
Posts: 111
Default Controller question

Sorry if this has already been covered but what is the best way to control two elements in one kettle? Can I control two elements with one PID?

__________________
bowhuntah is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-04-2011, 01:07 PM   #2
jmer1234
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 36
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

No, you will need a separate controller for each element.

Edit:
The question is, though, why do you want to have independently controlled elements?

Edit, Edit:
Unless you are not trying to independently control the 2 elements. In which case yes. You will need to make sure your circuit/ssr can handle both elements, and then just wire them up. Or use 2 SSRs, but still make sure your circuit can handle the load.

__________________
Merson Brewing

Last edited by jmer1234; 07-04-2011 at 01:11 PM.
jmer1234 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-04-2011, 02:27 PM   #3
bowhuntah
Registered User
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Windham, Maine
Posts: 111
Default

No, I don't want to control them independently. My boil kettle will have two elements (two 5500w on a 60amp circuit). I want to be able to control them as if they were one. So one PID with a SSR for each element?

__________________
bowhuntah is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-04-2011, 02:33 PM   #4
jmer1234
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 36
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

That is what I would do. Or use a higher amperage SSR. Typically, I am using a 25 amp ssr to control 1 element. But a 40 amp ssr should be able to handle 2, just do the math based on your voltage/heater element max watts to make sure.

__________________
Merson Brewing
jmer1234 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-04-2011, 02:43 PM   #5
bowhuntah
Registered User
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Windham, Maine
Posts: 111
Default

Just realized my last question wasn't so clear. Is a PID required for each element?

__________________
bowhuntah is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-04-2011, 02:50 PM   #6
jmer1234
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 36
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

No, you should be able to run a single PID. But I was just doing the math. If you are runining 110 Volt, you can get away with a single 40 amp SSR, but if you are running 220 Volt, you will be pushing 50 amps with 2 heater elements, and will need 2 40 amp SSRs or an appropriately sized single SSR (greater than 50 amps - leave yourself a little head room). I may edit this as I am still checking the math.

__________________
Merson Brewing
jmer1234 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-04-2011, 02:54 PM   #7
bowhuntah
Registered User
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Windham, Maine
Posts: 111
Default

I'll be going 220. I could possibly down size the elements. They will be going in a 45 gallon BK.

__________________
bowhuntah is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-04-2011, 04:45 PM   #8
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,231
Liked 244 Times on 196 Posts
Likes Given: 430

Default

bowhuntah,

Been following your thread and the idea intrigued me, so I decided to illustrate a diagram for you that might clarify the wiring.

(Click on the image for a full scale diagram that can be printed on Tabloid paper 11" x 17")



Switches 1 & 2 are placed to positively isolate the element power from your kettle during setup or whenever needed. The EPO circuit is designed to trip the mains GFCI breaker in the event of an emergency.

Hope this helps you.

__________________
P-J is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-04-2011, 06:45 PM   #9
bowhuntah
Registered User
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Windham, Maine
Posts: 111
Default

Thank you, that helps a lot!!!

__________________
bowhuntah is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-04-2011, 06:50 PM   #10
bowhuntah
Registered User
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Windham, Maine
Posts: 111
Default

With switches 1 & 2 on, the elements hot even when the relay is not energized?

__________________
bowhuntah is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
One more brew controller dmfa200 Electric Brewing 24 02-06-2013 03:38 PM
SET620 PID Temp Controller Question csuf_kmcglynn Electric Brewing 7 05-20-2011 07:32 PM
PID temp controller? rod734 Electric Brewing 13 04-29-2011 06:08 PM
On/Off Power Controller? thelorax121 Electric Brewing 14 01-29-2011 07:29 AM
Question about fuses for element controller Bugaboo Electric Brewing 17 12-07-2010 05:30 PM