Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Last Sponsor Giveaway of the Year!

Come Enter the BrewDeals/FastFerment Giveaway!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Control panel wiring questions
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-12-2013, 12:27 AM   #1
GTaylor
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
GTaylor's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Avon, Indiana
Posts: 179
Liked 6 Times on 6 Posts

Default Control panel wiring questions

I have started a build for an E-BIAB system base on this one and have a couple wiring questions.

Looking at the switch diagram, could I go from one X1 post to another and run the neutral wire from the last switch back to the incoming wire(kind of like a jumper from one X1 post to another)? Or do I have to run three individual neutral wires for the switches?

Also, does the contactor neutral have to come from the switch or can it just come from the terminal bar?

Thanks for the help.
Greg

__________________
GTaylor is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-12-2013, 02:53 AM   #2
mrwizard0
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Enid, OK
Posts: 433
Liked 21 Times on 20 Posts

Default

You can definitely run the neutral from one switch to the next. You can do the same with the hot lines as well in order to save a little bit of wire and space

__________________
mrwizard0 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-12-2013, 03:02 AM   #3
GTaylor
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
GTaylor's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Avon, Indiana
Posts: 179
Liked 6 Times on 6 Posts

Default

Thanks, that will make wiring a little easier since the switches are above each other.

Another question now, if I was to do this with the hot lines would I use only one fuse?

Getting close, just waiting on a few more pieces.

__________________
GTaylor is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-12-2013, 03:07 AM   #4
mrwizard0
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Enid, OK
Posts: 433
Liked 21 Times on 20 Posts

Default

That diagram has different size fuses so I don't know. I used one fuse for my pid and none for my pump. If you want a fuse on each of those lines then they would have to be separate

__________________
mrwizard0 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-12-2013, 03:07 AM   #5
conneryis007
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Keystone, CO
Posts: 262
Liked 22 Times on 20 Posts
Likes Given: 15

Default

Think about it like this, you are only going to have one terminal block for hot, neutral and ground...its all ultimately going to the same place in your control panel. As long as one switch does not isolate electricity (in both directions and ground) from another switch (unless that is what you want) you can link anything together.

__________________

Never underestimate how much assistance, how much satisfaction, how much comfort, how much soul and transcendence there might be in a well-made taco and a cold bottle of beer.

conneryis007 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Control panel wiring help smittygouv30 Electric Brewing 9 11-28-2012 03:29 AM
Control Panel wiring help. Tyrant Electric Brewing 13 10-01-2012 06:34 AM
control panel - how's my wiring? NoCornOrRice Electric Brewing 8 12-23-2011 10:55 PM
Control panel wiring questions jbug440 Electric Brewing 2 04-15-2011 12:45 PM
Control panel wiring help NinjaJoe Brew Stands 6 03-26-2010 03:58 AM



Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS