Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Winners Re-Re-Re-Re-Drawn - 24 hours to Claim!

Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > contactors?
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-13-2011, 03:56 AM   #1
slakwhere
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Posts: 755
Liked 20 Times on 19 Posts
Likes Given: 9

Default contactors?

so i have seen a lot of designs with SSR's switching 120v hot legs, and have recently read up on some 220v setups that seem to be using SSRs + Contactors. is the contactor simply to drive 2 separate hot legs for 240v? do i need a contactor to run a heating element at 120v?

__________________
slakwhere is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-13-2011, 04:17 AM   #2
wilserbrewer
Sponsor
HBT_SPONSOR.png
Vendor Ads 
Feedback Score: 9 reviews
 
wilserbrewer's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Jersey Shore, Jersey
Posts: 7,271
Liked 571 Times on 466 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Default

Since the 120 elements are less wattage, typically 1500 or 2000w, some run them at 100% power w/out a controller. This is a bare bones system but will work.

wilserbrewer is online now
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-13-2011, 11:41 AM   #3
EFaden
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Rochester, New York
Posts: 546
Liked 12 Times on 12 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

This is a safety thing. When SSRs turn off they don't actually disconnect the lines. The contactors are there to completely cut current when the switch is off. If, however, you switched the contactor via the PID (as if it were an SSR) it would destroy it. So basically people use the SSR to control the element from the PID and then the contactor to completely cut the connection when it isn't needed.

__________________

-Eric

EFaden is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-13-2011, 04:04 PM   #4
slakwhere
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Posts: 755
Liked 20 Times on 19 Posts
Likes Given: 9

Default

that makes perfect sense. thanks EFaden! it didn't look like the contactor could handle being switched rapidly any better than a regular relay, so i didn't understand why it was downstream of the SSR, but it's really being activated by a switch.

__________________
slakwhere is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Contactors-are some noisier than others? Rhino17 Electric Brewing 2 05-24-2011 04:46 AM
Are "Magnetic Definite Contactors" same as relays terrazza Electric Brewing 8 03-05-2011 12:51 AM



Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS