Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Choosing the right size element
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-27-2011, 03:50 PM   #11
Blowntri5
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Cornelius, NC
Posts: 87
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Yet another question. The cable that is coming from my breaker box and going to the garage has 4 wires. can I just put a breaker box in the garage and put in 220v?

__________________
Blowntri5 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-27-2011, 05:58 PM   #12
jeffmeh
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
jeffmeh's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,851
Liked 140 Times on 121 Posts
Likes Given: 18

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blowntri5 View Post
Yet another question. The cable that is coming from my breaker box and going to the garage has 4 wires. can I just put a breaker box in the garage and put in 220v?
Not if it is being fed from a 120V breaker in the box. But if the wire is 10 gauge or larger (smaller numbers) you could potentially use it with a new 30amp 240V breaker to bring it to the garage. You would want either use a GFCI breaker, or a regular breaker with the Home Depot spa panel that you could use in the garage. That being said, it is not likely that you have 10 gauge wire going to a 120V 20A receptacle, as it is likely no larger than 12.
__________________
jeffmeh is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-27-2011, 06:13 PM   #13
Blowntri5
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Cornelius, NC
Posts: 87
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

I did some looking and the cable that is coming from the breaker box and going to the garage is a four wire cable. One of the wires say 12awg. So can I just put a breaker box in the garage and make 220v?

__________________
Blowntri5 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-27-2011, 08:27 PM   #14
jeffmeh
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
jeffmeh's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,851
Liked 140 Times on 121 Posts
Likes Given: 18

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blowntri5 View Post
I did some looking and the cable that is coming from the breaker box and going to the garage is a four wire cable. One of the wires say 12awg. So can I just put a breaker box in the garage and make 220v?
Again, if you have a 20amp 120V breaker in the breaker box that feeds 12/4 wire to the garage, you only have 120V in the garage.
__________________
jeffmeh is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Kettle size versus heater element size Hound Electric Brewing 6 03-21-2013 11:29 PM
Sizing a Heating Element by Batch Size bellinmi88 Electric Brewing 4 01-08-2013 03:05 AM
heating element thread size wegz15 Electric Brewing 8 07-29-2011 10:39 PM
What size Oring for heater element? bad coffee Electric Brewing 4 04-01-2011 02:39 PM
what size element needed to maintain temp twardnw Electric Brewing 5 01-28-2011 01:49 PM