Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > can someone help with 120v?
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-07-2011, 01:53 PM   #51
mredge73
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
mredge73's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: La Porte, TX
Posts: 621
Liked 32 Times on 32 Posts

Default

Takes 1.5-2H on my SETOS PID, I am sure the Auber is similar.

The first time that I tried to do the autotune, I accidently turned on the manual mode and it went way over my set point, you may have done the same thing.

__________________
mredge73 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-07-2011, 04:25 PM   #52
Walker
I use secondaries. :p
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Walker's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 11,236
Liked 86 Times on 77 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Default

Auto tuning takes different amounts of time based on the system being controlled.

I use my brewery panel to also control a DIY electric smoker. I did separate auto tunes for the two systems. The brewery took 30 minutes and the smoker took 1 hour.

Edit: then I ended up manually adjusting the auto tuned numbers anyway because the system wasn't behaving as well as I wanted.

__________________
Ground Fault Brewing Co.
Walker is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-14-2011, 05:20 PM   #53
agezzi
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Lafayette,In
Posts: 124
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

Ok guys thanks again. This worked great. And now I am addicted. This was way to much fun(giddy like a child) I did already brew with it. Sry for no pics of brewing. But I did get some of the kettle, controller and beer. I think it turned out rather nice! Now to move and do a complete set up when 240v is available.

image-1452623569.jpg   image-3787958530.jpg   image-2810811904.jpg   image-1621490882.jpg   image-3789956416.jpg  

image-592489653.jpg   image-303582319.jpg   image-1423424174.jpg   image-4021162257.jpg  
__________________
agezzi is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-14-2011, 05:24 PM   #54
weirdboy
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 7,965
Liked 429 Times on 350 Posts
Likes Given: 60

Default

How did it go for heating things up? How long did it take to get up to strike temps?

__________________
weirdboy is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-14-2011, 05:35 PM   #55
agezzi
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Lafayette,In
Posts: 124
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

Well when I heated my strike water it took about 35 mins to hit temp. Time isn't a big deal for me. The control was great, set it and walk off. My brew day was cut by at least by an hour or more. For the boil I had a portable 8in hot plate. Set it on medium, medium high, and the used the pid on manual mode at 85%. Seem to b the sweet spot, kept a pretty continues boil. At 75% u could see it pluse.

__________________
agezzi is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-14-2011, 11:45 PM   #56
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,257
Liked 250 Times on 201 Posts
Likes Given: 441

Default


This image (I think) shows your input power cord to your control panel.


This one shows your power inlet on the panel.


I believe you need to change that configuration as it can put you at serious risk. When the cord is plugged into the wall, there is raw power available to touch with your hands on the other end of the cord. That is a Really Bad idea, IMHO.

You should put a standard cord outlet on the end of the cord and then change the panel outlet to a flush male inlet plug configuration.


http://www.mcmaster.com/#8036k2

Wishing you the best.

P-J
__________________
P-J is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-15-2011, 01:34 AM   #57
mredge73
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
mredge73's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: La Porte, TX
Posts: 621
Liked 32 Times on 32 Posts

Default

Echo that, never leave power on the male end.

What is that you sealed your element with, I haven't sealed my RIMS element yet and that looks pretty good?

__________________
mredge73 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-15-2011, 10:37 AM   #58
agezzi
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Lafayette,In
Posts: 124
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

I used a 1 1/4 pvc cap,drilled hole for cord. wired the element then used liquid tape to seal the terminals. Then took a 1 1/4 washer over the element threads, soldered the ground to the under side of the washer. jb welded that to the hex on the element. once dried i filled the cap with epoxy and set the element inside the cap( i did have to take carve out a area on the inside of the cap to make room for the ground wire) that makes the washer sit on top of the cap. when the epoxy set i jb welded the washer to the cap. I did not use the black gasket that came with the element.

To pj thanks for looking out for me. I did plan on getting that for the in side, but my dumb a** forgot to order it. So in a pinch i just bought another outlet... I am very carefull when using it. i never unplug the controls in tell its unpluged form the wall. as well as in plugging it in.

Here is a question tho, when i was looking on amazon i saw this plug for 20a 250v. will this work: http://www.amazon.com/Leviton-5829-R...403276&sr=8-13 or should i go with this one its a bit more put says 120v 20a: http://www.amazon.com/Leviton-15378-...3404577&sr=1-8

__________________
agezzi is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-15-2011, 11:12 AM   #59
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,257
Liked 250 Times on 201 Posts
Likes Given: 441

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by agezzi View Post
...
To pj thanks for looking out for me. I did plan on getting that for the in side, but my dumb a** forgot to order it. So in a pinch i just bought another outlet... I am very carefull when using it. i never unplug the controls in tell its unpluged form the wall. as well as in plugging it in.

Here is a question tho, when i was looking on amazon i saw this plug for 20a 250v. will this work: http://www.amazon.com/Leviton-5829-R...403276&sr=8-13 or should i go with this one its a bit more put says 120v 20a: http://www.amazon.com/Leviton-15378-...3404577&sr=1-8
Either one will work for you but I'd get the part that matches the power that you are using so that there is no possibility of mistakes later on. I posted a link for one from Mcmaster as well. You also need the matching cord end.
__________________
P-J is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Any 120V Setups for 10 Gal Batch? JJWP Electric Brewing 30 05-30-2011 11:17 PM
Best Low Density 120V Element? slickfish Electric Brewing 2 03-14-2011 01:05 PM
120v on 220v element? hatrickwah Electric Brewing 34 03-07-2011 08:14 PM
120V wiring help magnj Electric Brewing 1 02-20-2011 08:19 PM
120v Switches CoalCracker Electric Brewing 7 10-15-2010 08:53 PM