The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > can someone help with 120v?

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-28-2011, 03:29 PM   #21
agezzi
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Lafayette,In
Posts: 124
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

Thanks guys 2kw it is.
To P-J I found the schematic for the 120 2 element system. If I hook up one now I should b able add another later, right?
The last thing before I start the build. When I move and have a 240 outlet. Can I use that and split it into 2 120 lines in the control box to hook up the other element?

When I start the build I will be sure to take pics along the way. Thank you to everyone for their helping me figure this out.

__________________
agezzi is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-28-2011, 03:32 PM   #22
agezzi
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Lafayette,In
Posts: 124
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by agezzi
Thanks guys 2kw it is.
To P-J I found the schematic for the 120 2 element system. If I hook up one now I should b able add another later, right?
The last thing before I start the build. When I move and have a 240 outlet. Can I use that and split it into 2 120 lines in the control box to hook up the other element?

When I start the build I will be sure to take pics along the way. Thank you to everyone for their helping me figure this out.
Sry... To ask. Does the watts matter in adding 120v lights to the control box. Will the ones from radioshack work
__________________
agezzi is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-28-2011, 03:47 PM   #23
weirdboy
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 7,912
Liked 424 Times on 345 Posts
Likes Given: 58

Default

Are they incandescent lights or LEDs? Whatever you got from Radio Shack should have the specifications on the package, and if it doesn't, take it back and find out the specs.

__________________
weirdboy is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-28-2011, 03:51 PM   #24
mredge73
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
mredge73's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: La Porte, TX
Posts: 618
Liked 30 Times on 30 Posts

Default

Yes you can split the line on the 240V outlet, ONLY if it has a neutral.
A 4 prong outlet will have 2 hots, 1 ground, 1 neutral. Standard for a new house.
A 3 prong outlet will have 2 hots, 1 ground OR 1 neutral. From experience they are most likely a neutral, but should be a ground.

On the lights, make sure they are capable with the voltage you are using.
The wattage will determine how bright the light is, other than that it doesn't really matter what you use.

Note:
LED is for DC circuits only or in a low voltage AC application. A 24v LED can be used in a 24vac circuit but it will flash at 60hz, this will reduce its life.

__________________
mredge73 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-28-2011, 03:58 PM   #25
agezzi
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Lafayette,In
Posts: 124
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

ok thanks the lights im am looking at are these 2.

http://www.radioshack.com/product/in...ductId=2102795

http://www.radioshack.com/product/in...ductId=2102793

can i run this on 14/3 wire, its free!

__________________
agezzi is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-28-2011, 04:03 PM   #26
mredge73
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
mredge73's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: La Porte, TX
Posts: 618
Liked 30 Times on 30 Posts

Default

It is either an incandescent in a neon plastic filter.
Or they are mini neon lights, they require a minimum of 75vac to light up and are not dim-able.
You should be fine either way.

__________________
mredge73 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-28-2011, 04:09 PM   #27
agezzi
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Lafayette,In
Posts: 124
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by agezzi View Post
Can i run this on 14/3 wire, its free!
what about this to wire it up?
__________________
agezzi is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-28-2011, 04:18 PM   #28
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,231
Liked 244 Times on 196 Posts
Likes Given: 430

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by agezzi View Post
Thanks guys 2kw it is.
To P-J I found the schematic for the 120 2 element system. If I hook up one now I should b able add another later, right?
The last thing before I start the build. When I move and have a 240 outlet. Can I use that and split it into 2 120 lines in the control box to hook up the other element?

When I start the build I will be sure to take pics along the way. Thank you to everyone for their helping me figure this out.
I had to do some digging to find the diagram. I was fairly sure I did make one and sure enough:

Click on the image to see a ful scale diagram:




BTW, I made a couple of minor changes to the diagram so that it would be a little easier to setup and use.


Also: Yes, you can do a hookup using a 240V circuit.

P-J
__________________
P-J is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-28-2011, 04:24 PM   #29
mredge73
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
mredge73's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: La Porte, TX
Posts: 618
Liked 30 Times on 30 Posts

Default

It really depends on how far you are from the service breaker.
I use 12g to reduce my voltage drop since I am about 150' from the breaker.

It should be fine if you are <100' away.
Look around your house, a 1200w microwave uses 14-16g and passes UL standards.
You should be fine with 14g.

__________________
mredge73 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-31-2011, 02:14 PM   #30
agezzi
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Lafayette,In
Posts: 124
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

Ok so it's all been ordered. Can anyone tell me what the dimensions of a auber pid(syl-2352) will take pics as it gets going. I decided to use a PVC cap on the end of the element like in the Brutus 20. I bought jb weld,high temp epoxy and liquid electrical tape. Thought was to seal around the pot and element with jb weld, then use the liquid tape over the terminals to the element( stuff works great, my son and I r into rock crawlers(rc) and have used this many time to water proof the electronics) then will fill cap with epoxy and then use more jb weld around the element to attach the cap. Should this work ok, any thoughts

__________________
agezzi is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Any 120V Setups for 10 Gal Batch? JJWP Electric Brewing 30 05-30-2011 11:17 PM
Best Low Density 120V Element? slickfish Electric Brewing 2 03-14-2011 01:05 PM
120v on 220v element? hatrickwah Electric Brewing 34 03-07-2011 08:14 PM
120V wiring help magnj Electric Brewing 1 02-20-2011 08:19 PM
120v Switches CoalCracker Electric Brewing 7 10-15-2010 08:53 PM