Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Can someone check my Diagram?
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-03-2011, 09:27 PM   #1
magnj
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Central Jersey
Posts: 774
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default Can someone check my Diagram?

Well I took a crack at this, not sure how I did, also don't like electrocution. Would someone mind helping me out here? Don't mind my drawing, I can only do so much with mspaint and a laptop track pad.

Is my understanding of the SPST switches correct? 2 terminals, one in one out? Is there a ground? Should I be switching both Live and Neutral with a DPST?

If I am in fact on track, what gauge wiring do I need inside, 12?
Also this is intended to be run on a 15A GFCI circuit powering a march 809 and a 1500W element in a RIMS tube.

Thanks!

__________________
Brewing Next: Stout
Fermenting: APA with Pils and Saaz, German Pilsner, DunkelWeizen
Kegged: APA
magnj is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-03-2011, 09:34 PM   #2
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,275
Liked 257 Times on 205 Posts
Likes Given: 449

Default

Looks good. No need to switch anything but the hot wire on a 120V system.
It is a 15 amp circuit so #14 wire is A-ok.

HTH.

__________________
P-J is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-03-2011, 09:39 PM   #3
magnj
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Central Jersey
Posts: 774
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Ok, any tips on the pump/element out and the main power in outlets? Should I just go to HD and get regular old outlets? I see people on here with some fancy looking ones...

__________________
Brewing Next: Stout
Fermenting: APA with Pils and Saaz, German Pilsner, DunkelWeizen
Kegged: APA
magnj is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-03-2011, 11:19 PM   #4
Walker
I use secondaries. :p
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Walker's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 11,236
Liked 86 Times on 77 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by magnj View Post
Ok, any tips on the pump/element out and the main power in outlets? Should I just go to HD and get regular old outlets? I see people on here with some fancy looking ones...
Regular old outlets will work fine, especially at the loads you are using.

Get an outlet rated for 20A, and you're good to go.

For power into the box, I personally don't use an inlet. I just have a power cord attached permanently to the box.
__________________
Ground Fault Brewing Co.
Walker is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-03-2011, 11:19 PM   #5
magnj
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Central Jersey
Posts: 774
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

lol I saw the email alert but was unsure why the site did not reflect the post. 1500W LWD, hoping it will be enough to maintain my temps for 10 gallon batches in a 15 gallon aluminum stock pot.

__________________
Brewing Next: Stout
Fermenting: APA with Pils and Saaz, German Pilsner, DunkelWeizen
Kegged: APA
magnj is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-03-2011, 11:22 PM   #6
Walker
I use secondaries. :p
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Walker's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 11,236
Liked 86 Times on 77 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by magnj View Post
lol I saw the email alert but was unsure why the site did not reflect the post. 1500W LWD, hoping it will be enough to maintain my temps for 10 gallon batches in a 15 gallon aluminum stock pot.
Yeah, sorry. I had focused on the picture and asked my question before I read the damn text above it. So I deleted the post.

I would think that 1500W should be able to maintain a mash temp just fine. You'll probably want to do the big heating with some other source and gets mashed in, but after than, I think the little element can maintain things for you.
__________________
Ground Fault Brewing Co.
Walker is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-03-2011, 11:22 PM   #7
magnj
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Central Jersey
Posts: 774
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Ok, for the in side I want a male outlet, will I find one at a big box outlet? For that matter should I just use regular light switches instead of ordering from digikey? My only issue is my box is only 10inx6x3...kinda tight, somehow have to get a heatsink in there too.

__________________
Brewing Next: Stout
Fermenting: APA with Pils and Saaz, German Pilsner, DunkelWeizen
Kegged: APA
magnj is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-03-2011, 11:23 PM   #8
magnj
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Central Jersey
Posts: 774
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Yea I'll be direct firing the HLT and BK with propane, maybe the MLT with low heat for step mashes but that's rare for me.

__________________
Brewing Next: Stout
Fermenting: APA with Pils and Saaz, German Pilsner, DunkelWeizen
Kegged: APA
magnj is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-03-2011, 11:24 PM   #9
Walker
I use secondaries. :p
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Walker's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 11,236
Liked 86 Times on 77 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Default

and other answers:

Yes, you understand SPST switches. One in, one out, only connected with the switch in on position.

And 12 gauge wiring is fine to use for the wiring.

__________________
Ground Fault Brewing Co.
Walker is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-03-2011, 11:30 PM   #10
Walker
I use secondaries. :p
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Walker's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 11,236
Liked 86 Times on 77 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by magnj View Post
Ok, for the in side I want a male outlet, will I find one at a big box outlet? For that matter should I just use regular light switches instead of ordering from digikey? My only issue is my box is only 10inx6x3...kinda tight, somehow have to get a heatsink in there too.
I don't recall seeing the recessed male power inlets at Lowe's or HomeDepot.

Regular light switches will work, but they take up a lot of space. For the small number of switches you need, I would just go to RadioShack and get them and save the shipping charges.

Lowe's and HomeDepot will also sell toggle switches. Guess it depends on if you care what the final product looks like. Illuminated switches, while cool looking, don't change the functionality.

As for the SSR's heatsink, you don't have to put it inside. In fact, you might want to put it outside the box and have a hole cut so that the SSR can still make contact with it.

But, 10x6x3 isn't going to be too small.

I have a 10x12x5, and only use 10x6x5 of it, and I have a lot more stuff in there than you are planning. One whole half of my panel is empty in case I want to expand later.
__________________
Ground Fault Brewing Co.
Walker is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help with my electrical diagram!!! Gabrew Electric Brewing 208 03-05-2011 01:10 AM
Little confused about SSR Wiring diagram HossTheGreat Electric Brewing 9 02-11-2011 09:34 PM
Electric diagram w/ RIMS snail Electric Brewing 13 11-28-2010 02:00 AM
Final Electrical diagram, maybe??????????? EuBrew Electric Brewing 12 11-01-2010 10:16 PM
Wiring diagram advice frank551 Electric Brewing 6 10-19-2010 01:56 PM