Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway - Enter Now!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Can I use a regular GFCI wall outlet, (like in your bathroom)?

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-16-2011, 11:31 PM   #1
shortyjacobs
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 2,511
Liked 29 Times on 29 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default Can I use a regular GFCI wall outlet, (like in your bathroom)?

Some previous owner of this house was GFCI crazy. At least 2/3rds of the outlets are either GFCI or ganged to one.

The ones in my garage are GFCI, 15 amp service, 120 volt. I wanna run my RIMS off of them, (4500W 240V element, which will draw somewhere around 9 amps at 120V, if I recall right, march pump pulling 1.4 amps, and the PID, which will have negligible draw). I checked the outlets both with the "test" button on them and with the test button on one of these, and they check out.

So, am I safe to use them? With all the talk about using extra GFCIs and paying big money for them, it seems weird to just use one in the wall, but I don't see why not...

__________________
Itchy Dog Brewery.

(As of 10-24-2011)
Primary - Steppe 112 PA, 2x Monday RyePA
Aging - None :-(
On tap - Big Dog, Apfelwein, Steppe 112 PA

My invisible AG sculpture, with no actual sculpture and a tiny footprint.
My Kegerator goes offroading!
My Coors Home Draft dispenser for boating/beering on the go.
shortyjacobs is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-16-2011, 11:38 PM   #2
wildwest450
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 9,099
Liked 164 Times on 149 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

Why wouldn't it work?? I'm sure there's a clown on here that will tell you you'll die the second you plug it in.


_

__________________
wildwest450 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-16-2011, 11:49 PM   #3
shortyjacobs
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 2,511
Liked 29 Times on 29 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wildwest450 View Post
Why wouldn't it work?? I'm sure there's a clown on here that will tell you you'll die the second you plug it in.


_
I dunno...just seems like it's a huge deal on here and I haven't seen this suggested....maybe because so many people use 240V, and those GFCIs cost more?
__________________
Itchy Dog Brewery.

(As of 10-24-2011)
Primary - Steppe 112 PA, 2x Monday RyePA
Aging - None :-(
On tap - Big Dog, Apfelwein, Steppe 112 PA

My invisible AG sculpture, with no actual sculpture and a tiny footprint.
My Kegerator goes offroading!
My Coors Home Draft dispenser for boating/beering on the go.
shortyjacobs is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-17-2011, 12:14 AM   #4
kal
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
kal's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 2,065
Liked 200 Times on 138 Posts
Likes Given: 6

Default

A 15A/120V GFCI as found in a bathroom is perfectly safe to run 15A/120V devices no matter what they are.

Kal

kal is offline
241 Likes This 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-17-2011, 12:32 AM   #5
shortyjacobs
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 2,511
Liked 29 Times on 29 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

Sweet. Thanks Kal and Wildwest. Glad I didn't buy that ShockBuster thing...

__________________
Itchy Dog Brewery.

(As of 10-24-2011)
Primary - Steppe 112 PA, 2x Monday RyePA
Aging - None :-(
On tap - Big Dog, Apfelwein, Steppe 112 PA

My invisible AG sculpture, with no actual sculpture and a tiny footprint.
My Kegerator goes offroading!
My Coors Home Draft dispenser for boating/beering on the go.
shortyjacobs is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-21-2011, 10:07 PM   #6
Goblism
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Mankato, Minnesota
Posts: 221
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

I wonder if he was really that GFCI crazy, the NEC requires a lot of areas to have GFCI. My bathroom, entire kitchen, garage, outside outlets, and some of my basement is all GFCI, they just wired the first outlet to be GFCI and everything beyound that point is protected as well (Exterior outlets are connected to GFCI in my basement for example)

__________________
Goblism is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-23-2011, 02:07 PM   #7
Walker
I use secondaries. :p
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Walker's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 11,235
Liked 85 Times on 77 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Goblism View Post
I wonder if he was really that GFCI crazy, the NEC requires a lot of areas to have GFCI. My bathroom, entire kitchen, garage, outside outlets, and some of my basement is all GFCI, they just wired the first outlet to be GFCI and everything beyound that point is protected as well (Exterior outlets are connected to GFCI in my basement for example)
NEC requires GFCI in:
- kitchens/bathrooms/boathouses/wetbar areas (anything with water and electricity within 6 feet of each other)
- garages and accessory buildings at or below grade level
- basements/crawl spaces (again... the "at or below grade level" thing)
- outdoors

For some reason, laundry rooms get some exception, even though there is water and electricity right next to each other.

It would actually be nice if the NEC required it in laundry rooms, though.... a lot of people are building systems and running them off their dryer outlets. If the NEC required GFCI on those outlets, it would mean that those guys wouldn't have to incur the extra expense of adding GFCI for their brewing systems.
__________________
Ground Fault Brewing Co.
Walker is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-23-2011, 02:18 PM   #8
Misplaced_Canuck
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
 
Misplaced_Canuck's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: NE Columbia SC - Formerly, Montreal Canada
Posts: 2,749
Liked 131 Times on 106 Posts
Likes Given: 38

Default

It'll work just fine. Myself I'm not a big fan of GCFI because I find that they tend to trip easily when there's lightning in my area. My garage had one, and I removed it (but will put it back whenever I decide to sell the house).

M_C

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Misplaced_Canuck
Carbonic bite? Is that like the bubonic plague?
Quote:
Originally Posted by ebstauffer
Needless to say after more than a few drams my mental efficiency matched my mashing efficiency.
Misplaced_Canuck is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GFCI and etc. aperk Electric Brewing 8 06-05-2011 11:39 PM
Gfci? rod734 Electric Brewing 9 04-26-2011 04:48 PM
heating element and regular 120V house outlet iamatuna Electric Brewing 4 03-11-2011 01:35 PM
placement of GFCI outlet kappclark Electric Brewing 7 03-05-2011 05:13 PM
Laundry Outlet? ZWood15 Electric Brewing 13 10-19-2010 04:53 AM