Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Can I use EMT as a ground?

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-03-2012, 02:06 AM   #1
Dgonza9
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Evanston, Illinois
Posts: 1,183
Liked 9 Times on 9 Posts

Default Can I use EMT as a ground?

I read that it was allowable to have up to 16 #12 wires in 3/4" EMT.

Yeah, good luck getting that done. I have 8 and it wasn't easy to pull those. I was going to run a separate ground wire. But now I'm wondering if I can use the metal conduit as the ground here. I don't know if I can pull another wire through.

Acceptable?

__________________
On Tap: Belgian Barrel Aged Barleywine, Da Yooper's Oatmeal Stout, Breakfast Stout, Hop Your Face Off IIPA, Catcher in the Rye Saison, "Wino-head" Nelsin Sauvin Gumballhead.

Bourbon Barrel Duchesse De Bourgnone
Kegged:

Fermenting English Mild

on Deck: Lager?
Dgonza9 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-03-2012, 02:15 AM   #2
DaleHair
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 151
Liked 6 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 8

Default

Yes, as long as it properly installed.

__________________
DaleHair is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-03-2012, 02:16 AM   #3
sils13
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA
Posts: 144
Liked 7 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

Personally I would always pull an equipment ground, and never rely on conduit it's only as good as the weakest link.

__________________
sils13 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-03-2012, 02:22 AM   #4
mux
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Chicago, IL - Illinois
Posts: 1,878
Liked 66 Times on 54 Posts
Likes Given: 23

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dgonza9 View Post
I read that it was allowable to have up to 16 #12 wires in 3/4" EMT.

Yeah, good luck getting that done. I have 8 and it wasn't easy to pull those. I was going to run a separate ground wire. But now I'm wondering if I can use the metal conduit as the ground here. I don't know if I can pull another wire through.

Acceptable?
Yes, But if you are Piping and pulling a new run size accordingly and pull a ground conductor.
“Sections 250.4(A) and (B)”General Requirements for Grounding
and Bonding” set forth in detail what must be accomplished by the grounding and
bonding of metal parts of the electrical system. The metal parts must form an
effective low-impedance path to ground in order to safely conduct any fault current
and facilitate the operation of overcurrent devices protecting the enclosed circuit
conductors.”
__________________
mux is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-03-2012, 02:24 AM   #5
mux
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Chicago, IL - Illinois
Posts: 1,878
Liked 66 Times on 54 Posts
Likes Given: 23

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sils13 View Post
Personally I would always pull an equipment ground, and never rely on conduit it's only as good as the weakest link.
100% agree. Did an electrician properly install that run? Cheap insurance if not.
__________________
mux is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-03-2012, 02:26 AM   #6
mux
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Chicago, IL - Illinois
Posts: 1,878
Liked 66 Times on 54 Posts
Likes Given: 23

Default

Also if it was that tough to pull you should get some lube.
http://www.homedepot.com/buy/electrical/electrical-tools-accessories/klein-tools/premium-synthetic-clear-lubricant-1-qt-93126.html

__________________
mux is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-03-2012, 02:26 AM   #7
Dgonza9
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Evanston, Illinois
Posts: 1,183
Liked 9 Times on 9 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DaleHair
Yes, as long as it properly installed.
I'll run another ground wire.
__________________
On Tap: Belgian Barrel Aged Barleywine, Da Yooper's Oatmeal Stout, Breakfast Stout, Hop Your Face Off IIPA, Catcher in the Rye Saison, "Wino-head" Nelsin Sauvin Gumballhead.

Bourbon Barrel Duchesse De Bourgnone
Kegged:

Fermenting English Mild

on Deck: Lager?
Dgonza9 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-03-2012, 02:28 AM   #8
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,245
Liked 248 Times on 200 Posts
Likes Given: 435

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dgonza9 View Post
I read that it was allowable to have up to 16 #12 wires in 3/4" EMT.
Yeah, good luck getting that done. I have 8 and it wasn't easy to pull those...
You scare the hell out of me. You are on the short circuit of frying yourself into being a crispy critter.

IMHO you do not have a clue.

Sorry... I'm done and will not bother you anymore in any of your multi threads...

Please be very careful in what you choose to do. You are playing a very serious game of "You Bet Your Life".
__________________
P-J is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-03-2012, 02:31 AM   #9
DaleHair
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 151
Liked 6 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 8

Default

Some receptacles are rated as self grounding but it is a good idea to use a ground wire to the box. I sometimes will use one wire as a pull wire to pull two wires in, it's easiest with wire lube.

Edit: It is also easier to have one person feed the wire in while another pulls.

__________________
DaleHair is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-03-2012, 02:40 AM   #10
mux
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Chicago, IL - Illinois
Posts: 1,878
Liked 66 Times on 54 Posts
Likes Given: 23

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DaleHair View Post
Some receptacles are rated as self grounding but it is a good idea to use a ground wire to the box. I sometimes will use one wire as a pull wire to pull two wires in, it's easiest with wire lube.
That's what I would do! You really don't need to push a fish tape through there if its was that tough of a pull. Post a picture of the pipe run. How long how many bends ect.. I'll try and help.
__________________
mux is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
240V 3-wire drier ground/neutral confusion El_Cabrito Electric Brewing 41 01-01-2012 03:47 AM
Heat Stick Ground Question rivertranced Electric Brewing 4 11-29-2011 05:09 AM
Gauge of ground wire GRHunter Electric Brewing 12 05-25-2011 10:26 PM
How to ground heating element beeguy Electric Brewing 15 02-01-2011 05:15 AM
Heat stick failure... ground question. Dgonza9 Electric Brewing 4 01-07-2011 12:03 AM