Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Can elements or weldings give the beer a metallic taste?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-07-2013, 09:25 PM   #1
Patricknobles
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Can elements or weldings give the beer a metallic taste?

Hi guys

For my first e-BIAB I brewed a belgian IPA. It is ending fermentation and I just took a taste and it has a strong metallic flavor. I have been brewing decent beer for a few years, and don't think it is an issue of the beer becoming oxidized.

My initial thoughts are: the weldings where the heating elements are leaked in off-flavors or the heating elements tainted the taste of the beer. Could it be all the new cams and hoses?

I have a stainless steel 52 quart system, 2 1500w elements, recirculating pump, etc.

I cleaned the pot before use and etc...this is a disapointment for my new system. Any thoughts?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-07-2013, 10:07 PM   #2
tphjr
Recipes 

Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

I have brewed for a long time in my brew pot & it has one of the 1650 watt zinc plated elements installed through the side and I have not had any issues.

I use the plug-in element along with my stove top to brew my beer.

Old 04-07-2013, 11:02 PM   #3
jeffmeh
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 131 Times on 112 Posts
Likes Given: 17

I could see an issue if you did not thoroughly clean all the welds, new fittings and such, but otherwise you should not have a problem with normal welds and fittings.

Old 04-08-2013, 12:07 AM   #4
Patricknobles
Recipes 

I use starsan, is there something better?

Old 04-08-2013, 12:12 AM   #5
mattd2
Recipes 

Liked 238 Times on 194 Posts
Likes Given: 42