The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Building new stand, changing plan from propane to electric and need help

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-14-2012, 12:10 PM   #1
vaheel
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Wise, VA
Posts: 88
Default Building new stand, changing plan from propane to electric and need help

So, I am ready to begin on a new brew stand next week. I brew 5 gallon and want to move up to 10 gallon batches. The original plan was to base the design on SouthernYankee's single tier propane, however a few days ago I started thinking that I woule really like to have the ability to brew indoors and started reading about electric set-ups and would like to go this route if at all possible with a reasonable expense. I have an open 30A breaker that I can run wiring to a GE Spa box in my basement. I have read a lot on the electric brewery and its awesome, just out of my price range.

Goal:
Begin with a basic electric system that I can expand to a three vessel system without having to re-buy or replace parts as I expand.

Here's what I have now:
Two keggles for HLT and BK
Coleman Xtreme for MLT (eventually plan on replacing with another keggle)
1 1/2" steel for brew stand

Here's what I am thinking I need for electric:
Convert HLT to ekeggle (weldless element using POL's design) 5500W
Convert BK to ekeggle (weldless) 4500W
pump(s)
GE Spa Panel for GFCI
30A outlet (3 wire or 4 wire, not sure)
Temp module?
Control panel-this is where I need the most help and basically clueless. Can anyone suggest parts needed? I know I am asking alot, just need some help and direction.

Thanks!

__________________
vaheel is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-14-2012, 01:09 PM   #2
wadefisher
Brew Meister
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
wadefisher's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Lewistown / Dade City, PA / FL
Posts: 301
Liked 10 Times on 8 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vaheel View Post


Here's what I am not thinking I need for electric:
???? "not" ??

Quote:
Originally Posted by vaheel View Post
Convert HLT to ekeggle (weldless element using POL's design) 5500W
Convert BK to ekeggle (weldless) 4500W
pump(s)
if $$$ is holding you up consider using multi-tier. uses less pumps. I find it simpler. Just my opinion.
Quote:
Originally Posted by vaheel View Post
GE Spa Panel for GFCI
30A outlet (3 wire or 4 wire, not sure)
Try to make it 4 wire. If you are running a new circuit then 4 for sure.
Quote:
Originally Posted by vaheel View Post
Temp module?
Control panel-this is where I need the most help and basically clueless. Can anyone suggest parts needed? I know I am asking alot, just need some help and direction.
Search this forum and read alot this can help you more than anyone telling you what you want, need or can afford.
You can go very simple, which is usually less $$, or go with all the bells and buzzers you want.
Find your happy median.
__________________

www DrunkMonkeyBrewWerks dot com

Last edited by wadefisher; 01-14-2012 at 01:21 PM. Reason: more detail
wadefisher is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-14-2012, 02:10 PM   #3
vaheel
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Wise, VA
Posts: 88
Default

Thanks for the reply!

The "not" was a typo on my part. I am reading and learning more as I go. I really can't see reason not low go electric.

__________________
vaheel is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-15-2012, 12:27 AM   #4
vaheel
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Wise, VA
Posts: 88
Default

Do I need two PID's for the BK and HLT ekeggle or just one?

__________________
vaheel is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-15-2012, 12:41 AM   #5
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,231
Liked 244 Times on 196 Posts
Likes Given: 430

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vaheel View Post
Do I need two PID's for the BK and HLT ekeggle or just one?
You are running on a 30A circuit. You only need to have one PID. Switching allows you to maintain control of you system and its process.
__________________
P-J is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-17-2012, 11:23 PM   #6
vaheel
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Wise, VA
Posts: 88
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by P-J View Post
You are running on a 30A circuit. You only need to have one PID. Switching allows you to maintain control of you system and its process.
Thanks for the reply P-J!

So with one PID I would need to switch between the elements. If I used two PID's could I run both elements at the same time? Would this need a larger circuit?
__________________
vaheel is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-17-2012, 11:43 PM   #7
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,231
Liked 244 Times on 196 Posts
Likes Given: 430

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vaheel View Post
Thanks for the reply P-J!

So with one PID I would need to switch between the elements. If I used two PID's could I run both elements at the same time? Would this need a larger circuit?
With a 30A-240V circuit, you will only be able to run a single kettle at one time (HLT or BOIL). If you provide a 50A-240V circuit, you can run 2 kettles at the same time (HLT and BOIL). This would require that you to have 2 PIDs. With that setup you can do back to back batches. If you do not intend or want to do back to back brew sessions, save your money and just use a single PID.

Hope this makes sense and helps you.
__________________
P-J is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-18-2012, 12:19 AM   #8
vaheel
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Wise, VA
Posts: 88
Default

Thanks again P-J! This helps me out alot. Have you designed a wiring diagram for this type off set-up before?

__________________
vaheel is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-18-2012, 12:30 AM   #9
Brickout
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Lockport, IL
Posts: 267
Liked 21 Times on 10 Posts

Default

Check out PJ's diagram here. It's about as simple and inexpensive as you can get. It's pretty much what I'm modeling my system off of.

__________________
Brickout is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-18-2012, 12:32 AM   #10
vaheel
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Wise, VA
Posts: 88
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brickout View Post
Check out PJ's diagram here. It's about as simple and inexpensive as you can get. It's pretty much what I'm modeling my system off of.
Thanks Brickout! How faar along are you in your build?
__________________
vaheel is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
e-Brewery Control Panel Project/Conversion from Propane to Electric stlbeer Electric Brewing 72 Yesterday 08:26 PM
pricing going all electric, has anyone used a dunnage rack as a stand? boswell Electric Brewing 3 09-30-2011 09:48 PM
Help me plan an eBIAB build Namocsid Electric Brewing 3 09-23-2011 07:17 PM
Electric VS Nat Gas (not propane) JimWard Electric Brewing 20 12-31-2010 05:20 PM
Help with converting from propane to electric ddknight Electric Brewing 24 12-26-2010 03:26 PM