Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Borderline Brewing EHERMS

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-12-2012, 08:00 PM   #1
nhwrecker
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 50 Times on 39 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default Borderline Brewing EHERMS

Hi All,
I’ve been collecting parts for the past several months for an all electric single level EHERMS build, using Kal’s great E-Brewery system as a reference and model, as well as all of the other great systems that have been shared on HBT, and particularly those drawn up by PJ. I'm using a re-purposed stainless steel control panel (16"x16"x7") that I reclaimed from a salvage yard for $14. I've included some pics of the box. When I got it it had a single hole in the top, and a bunch of extra holes in the bottom. I ended up cutting out the top and installing a heat sink, and cutting out the unwanted holes in the bottom, and making a new plate out of sheet aluminum. I had the front holes cut out from a source on Craigs list (the steel is about 62 mils thick, and was hard for me to work with at home). I ended up polishing the whole box and heat sink, and the last 2 pictures show it with most of the controls in place - I still have to clean off the extra silicone around the PIDS and timer.

The control panel will be powered from a 60Amp GFI Spa Panel that’s fed from a 50A 2 pole 240V breaker. There will be two 5500W (240V) heating elements – one in the BK and one in the HLT (all converted keggles). I’ve got 3 Auber PIDS (BK, HLT, and the 3rd will just be to monitor the temp of the MLT) and a Sestos timer. I’ve come up with a preliminary wiring diagram, but would appreciate it if you guys would check it out, and tell me what I’m missing and/or doing wrong, and answering a few questions that I have.