New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermenter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Assessing my feasibility of going electric - some questions




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-26-2012, 05:37 PM   #1
mmonacel
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Medford, NJ
Posts: 548
Liked 10 Times on 10 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default Assessing my feasibility of going electric - some questions

I've been thinking about going electric. I have an unused dryer plug (30a - 3-prong). That is attached to what appears to be a 60a breaker (see pic). The wire appears to be an 8 gauge - the markings in the pic appear to say "M-8 WG (UL) 600V".

Goals:

  • Able to run two heating elements at a time (BK and MLT; MLT and HLT, etc.). Ideally three?
  • Run two pumps
  • Have the ability (ultimately) to do a fully automated setup with BCS-462 with PIDs, SSRs, etc.
  • Ideally be able to plug in a computer as well
  • Currently doing 5gal, but want to be able to upgrade to 10gal
  • Would like to have just one element per vessel

Some questions:
  1. It appears my breaker is rated for 60 amps. Would that supply enough juice to accomplish all my goals above?
  2. It appears my outlet and wire gauge is not up to snuff however to carry a fully 60amps. Please confirm.
  3. Assuming #2 is correct, and 60amps is enough for all my needs, what wire gauge should I run?
  4. Is it common to have three elements - one for each vessel, or do most electric setups utilize two? Is there enough juice to run three elements?
  5. Any links / posts you think would be best to check out to guide me towards my stated goals witih someone with a similar setup?

Thanks in advance!








__________________

"Goin' downtown to the disco, gotta do it right away. Got a funky thing to get into, gonna blow my blues away!"

mmonacel is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-26-2012, 05:47 PM   #2
stamandster
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: springfield, ma
Posts: 736
Liked 47 Times on 40 Posts
Likes Given: 25

Default

That's a 30amp two pole breaker. Should be enough for powering one 5500w element at a time.



__________________
Undefined Brewing Company - Beer for Undefined Drinkers
stamandster is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-26-2012, 05:58 PM   #3
mmonacel
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Medford, NJ
Posts: 548
Liked 10 Times on 10 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

Ah - so just 30 amps total. Thank you.

__________________

"Goin' downtown to the disco, gotta do it right away. Got a funky thing to get into, gonna blow my blues away!"

mmonacel is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-26-2012, 06:14 PM   #4
pvtschultz
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: West Allis (Milwaukee), WI, Wisconsin
Posts: 440
Liked 6 Times on 6 Posts
Likes Given: 13

Default

You can still operate a 10 gallon setup with 30 amps (5,500W/220V = 25 amps). You just start to run into trouble when you try to operate multiple pumps and secondary appliances on the same feed line. All-in-all, 50 amps would be ideal, but 30 amps is sufficient for most of our needs.

__________________
Brewing: BM's Centennial Blonde
Drinking: Brown Ale, Cherry Smoked Robust Porter (way too much smoke!)
On Deck: Dunkel, CAP, Berliner Weiss, Bock, Sour Raspberry Brown, APA...
2014 Gallons Brewed: 19
Gallons Brewed '11-'13: 250


http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f170/pvtschultzs-ebiab-build-finally-298407/
pvtschultz is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-26-2012, 06:32 PM   #5
mmonacel
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Medford, NJ
Posts: 548
Liked 10 Times on 10 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stamandster View Post
That's a 30amp two pole breaker. Should be enough for powering one 5500w element at a time.
Assuming there is enough amps left in the panel (200amp service) I'm assuming I could replace the 30a with a 50a double pole and rewire to fit my needs - say to a 4-prong outlet?

If I do this, and move to another house, I'm assuming I can leave the 4-prong outlet for the new owner for a dryer without screwing him over since that appears to be the newer standard. And there should be no issue with that line being a 50a - it's just more juice than the dryer likely would ever pull. Right?

http://homerenovations.about.com/od/electrical/a/artdryeroutlet.htm
__________________

"Goin' downtown to the disco, gotta do it right away. Got a funky thing to get into, gonna blow my blues away!"

mmonacel is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-26-2012, 06:35 PM   #6
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,154
Liked 234 Times on 188 Posts
Likes Given: 398

Default

You need a setup similar to this:

As always - click on the image to see a full scale diagram printable on Tabloid paper (11" x 17")



HTH...

__________________
P-J is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-27-2012, 01:56 AM   #7
mmonacel
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Medford, NJ
Posts: 548
Liked 10 Times on 10 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

Awesome - thanks! Happen to have a wire diagram of a 50 amp installation as well?

__________________

"Goin' downtown to the disco, gotta do it right away. Got a funky thing to get into, gonna blow my blues away!"

mmonacel is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-27-2012, 02:12 AM   #8
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,154
Liked 234 Times on 188 Posts
Likes Given: 398

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mmonacel View Post
Awesome - thanks! Happen to have a wire diagram of a 50 amp installation as well?
I do...
However, based on what you have available, you are in for a major financial investment in setting up a 50A - 240V circuit for a brew rig. It will be new, in home, wiring and MUST be according to code and also MUST be permitted and inspected.

Setting up a new power feed is not a 'do it your self' project.
__________________
P-J is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-27-2012, 02:57 AM   #9
mmonacel
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Medford, NJ
Posts: 548
Liked 10 Times on 10 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

Hmmm... Ok. I'll look more into how to work with the 30 amp then. Any good articles / threads that discuss the typical processes / tradeoffs needed for working with 30 amp? Ie. You can't run your BK and HLT at the same time, etc.? Much appreciated. I'm a pretty technical guy, but am a bit overwhelmed / confused with the electric and automation stuff. I'll surely get it but just trying to keep thing straight.



__________________

"Goin' downtown to the disco, gotta do it right away. Got a funky thing to get into, gonna blow my blues away!"

mmonacel is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New to Electric brewing - 5 gallon setup questions Jester Electric Brewing 19 10-24-2011 06:25 PM
Questions on converting to electric bigljd Electric Brewing 14 10-19-2011 02:11 PM
Electric keggle conversion, several questions NoCornOrRice Electric Brewing 9 10-07-2011 03:53 PM
Electric Brew System Questions Lou1998 Electric Brewing 8 10-06-2011 03:34 PM
Questions for electric herms guys..... wildwest450 Electric Brewing 21 10-22-2010 06:42 PM