New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermenter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Arduino driving an SSR




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-07-2010, 03:53 PM   #1
thomashp
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Richmond, VA, Richmond, VA
Posts: 55
Default Arduino driving an SSR

Anyone using an arduino digital pin to directly drive an SSR? Most of the input currents for the 40A SSRs I'm looking at is 10-20mA. I think the arduino should be able to handle that. I'm trying to build a very minimal system that basically controls 2 heating elements and has 2 thermometers. Should I stop being cheap and lazy and use some transistors or can the Arduino directly drive these babies?

http://cgi.ebay.com/NEW-Solid-State-Relay-40A-SSR-40DA-3-32VDC-24-380VAC-/270653345266?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item3f0432 4df2



__________________
thomashp is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-07-2010, 05:11 PM   #2
DeNomad
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 311
Liked 5 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

An arduino should be able to drive those things just fine. I would suggest looking at the hardware index page: http://arduino.cc/en/Main/Boards

http://arduino.cc/en/Main/ArduinoBoardDuemilanove This is the board I have. It says the I/O pins can handle up to 40 mA.

Also... how are buying SSRs cheaper than grabbing some transistors? Transistors are dirt cheap.



__________________

Primary: Yooper_Brew's Dead Guy Clone, BierMuncher's Black Pearl Porter
Kegged: BierMuncher's OktoberFAST Ale, Pliney the Elder Clone

DeNomad is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-07-2010, 05:19 PM   #3
utopeya
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Providence
Posts: 27
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

Disclaimer: I'm no electrician, and I'm no Arduino expert. That said, my system's Arduino is directly connected to the SSRs, and it seems to be working fine. The control voltage of my SSRs (cheap Ebay ones that get shipped to you directly from Asia) is 3-32VDC, and the Arduino pins output at 5VDC.

Edit: and yes, like DeNomad said, 40 mA. Like I said, I'm not an expert...

__________________

Last edited by utopeya; 11-07-2010 at 05:22 PM.
utopeya is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-07-2010, 06:09 PM   #4
thomashp
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Richmond, VA, Richmond, VA
Posts: 55
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DeNomad View Post
An arduino should be able to drive those things just fine. I would suggest looking at the hardware index page: http://arduino.cc/en/Main/Boards

http://arduino.cc/en/Main/ArduinoBoardDuemilanove This is the board I have. It says the I/O pins can handle up to 40 mA.

Also... how are buying SSRs cheaper than grabbing some transistors? Transistors are dirt cheap.
Sorry for the confusion. I didn't mean transitors or SSRs. I just wondered if I needed transistors and SSRs. I guess I'm just trying to minimize the amount of parts and wiring I had to do. I'm lazy. I think it's probably good practice to use transistors as it isolates the Arduino from the SSRs and the higher voltage, but I guess the SSR already does that...
I guess the only thing I have to worry about not using transitors is that the max draw from all the I/O pins can't be more than 200mA. I think I might just use a few transistors just so I don't have to worry about it.
__________________
thomashp is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-08-2010, 06:00 AM   #5
shushikiary
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: denver
Posts: 161
Liked 6 Times on 6 Posts

Default

Well it depends on which ATMEGA chipe you are using exactly, but the current need of the SSR exceeds the max current sink or supply of the pins on the ATMEGA chips. You can run it that way but you'll decrease the life of the chip.

Easiest way is to do what brewtroller does and get your self a darlington pair chip and drive it using the ATMEGA and have it sink the current for the SSR, sense each pin on the darlington pair can easily sink 200ma usually a pin so you'll be fine running multiple.

What you really need to do is double check your spec sheet for your specific part and make sure it can sink or supply the current you're asking of the pin.



__________________
shushikiary is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools
Display Modes