Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Anyone using PLC's?
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-26-2011, 03:34 AM   #1
TrevorRuggiero
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 11
Default Anyone using PLC's?

There are some sweet electric brew rigs that people are posting up on these forums. One thing I have not seen a lot of though are PLCs. Has anyone played around with using PLCs in their brew rigs?

I am currently building my rig with an automation direct DL06 PLC. I will post some pictures and how to's when I am done. In the mean time though I would be interested to hear what other peoples experiences have been with using PLC's or other programable controllers.

Cheers,

-T

__________________
TrevorRuggiero is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-26-2011, 02:39 PM   #2
941MxVet
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Winnemucca, NV
Posts: 21
Default

I don't have an all grain set-up yet, but when I do build mine I'd like to use a PLC to control it.

I am thinking of using a Modicon Momentum, or possibly an AB Micrologic.

I believe using PLC's would be far better then using single loop controllers.

JMHO

__________________
941MxVet is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-26-2011, 11:29 PM   #3
SOB
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Delaware, OH
Posts: 975
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts

Default

I built mine with an AB SLC500 that was given to me. I actually just did my wet test today and will be brewing for the first time tomorrow. I'll be posting the pics shortly...I'll link to the thread when I'm done.

A PLC is overkill (if you ask me) but when it's free and is what you do for a living if kinda makes sense...

EDIT: here's the link http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f170/sob...6/#post2684943

__________________
"So we were slammin' beers in the church parking lot..."

"I'm much too young to feel this damn old"
SOB is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-26-2011, 11:37 PM   #4
kladue
Senior Member
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Turner, Oregon, Oregon most of the time now
Posts: 2,308
Liked 47 Times on 43 Posts

Default

I am running Opto 22 PLC hardware with a custom .Net application that manages the brew process from recipe to fermenter for a steam injection RIMS system. The hardware has grown to about 40 analog and 32 digital points, with more planned to support auto measure malt system.

__________________
kladue is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-27-2011, 12:01 AM   #5
SOB
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Delaware, OH
Posts: 975
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kladue View Post
I am running Opto 22 PLC hardware with a custom .Net application that manages the brew process from recipe to fermenter for a steam injection RIMS system. The hardware has grown to about 40 analog and 32 digital points, with more planned to support auto measure malt system.
PICs\Info please! This sounds pretty awesome...
__________________
"So we were slammin' beers in the church parking lot..."

"I'm much too young to feel this damn old"
SOB is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-27-2011, 12:07 AM   #6
ClaudiusB
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: El Paso, Texas
Posts: 1,273
Liked 60 Times on 51 Posts
Likes Given: 116

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TrevorRuggiero View Post
Has anyone played around with using PLCs in their brew rigs?

I am currently building my rig with an automation direct DL06 PLC. I will post
Cheers,
I am using two DL06, one 05 and some Siemens PLC's.


Cheers,
ClaudiusB
ClaudiusB is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-27-2011, 12:43 AM   #7
kladue
Senior Member
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Turner, Oregon, Oregon most of the time now
Posts: 2,308
Liked 47 Times on 43 Posts

Default

Here is the current system schematic https://picasaweb.google.com/kevin.l...88834702655394.
Here are some of the hardware schematicshttps://picasaweb.google.com/kevin.ladue/Schematics#
and a picture of the first panel https://picasaweb.google.com/kevin.l...53722278984738
The second panel with the touch screen PC and other boards https://picasaweb.google.com/kevin.l...67138764297570
and an older picture that is a couple revisions behind https://picasaweb.google.com/kevin.l...53726957372914
This was designed and built to operate indoors with vented combustion and only take up 4' X 8' of floor space.

__________________
kladue is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-27-2011, 03:51 AM   #8
TrevorRuggiero
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kladue View Post
Here is the current system schematic https://picasaweb.google.com/kevin.l...88834702655394.
Here are some of the hardware schematicshttps://picasaweb.google.com/kevin.ladue/Schematics#
and a picture of the first panel https://picasaweb.google.com/kevin.l...53722278984738
The second panel with the touch screen PC and other boards https://picasaweb.google.com/kevin.l...67138764297570
and an older picture that is a couple revisions behind https://picasaweb.google.com/kevin.l...53726957372914
This was designed and built to operate indoors with vented combustion and only take up 4' X 8' of floor space.
That is a bad ass looking set up! So how much of the process have you successfully automated? Looking at some of your diagrams and the auto feed hoppers it looks like all you need in order to brew is a web connection. Nice work!

-T
__________________
TrevorRuggiero is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-27-2011, 01:06 PM   #9
kladue
Senior Member
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Turner, Oregon, Oregon most of the time now
Posts: 2,308
Liked 47 Times on 43 Posts

Default

The auto feed hoppers have not been built yet, a prototype feeder has been built and tested, just have not built 8 chamber hopper yet. The rest of the automation is built and tested. To operate you do the recipe on the touch screen, add malt to hopper, hang hop bags, connect fermenter, touch auto run icon and walk away, all the water amounts were automatically calculated, and times were set in the recipe build. Other than a test batch to verify operation it has been idle while I work in Arizona and continue to improve the control application and add features.

__________________
kladue is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-27-2011, 03:38 PM   #10
941MxVet
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Winnemucca, NV
Posts: 21
Default

Wow, thanks for sharing Kevin! Some of these set-ups look great.


...now I need to learn how to brew

__________________
941MxVet is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools