Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Any Major problems with this wiring plan?
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-01-2011, 10:36 PM   #1
aludwig
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Warrenton, Virginia
Posts: 80
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts

Default Any Major problems with this wiring plan?

Does anyone see any glaring safety concerns with the following control panel wiring plan?

First let me explain what I am trying to do:
2-Tier 5 gallon all-grain single element electric system
BK = converted sankey keg
MLT/HLT = 10 gallon rubbermaid coolers
5500W element in the kettle
220v Gorman-Rupp magnetic pump
120v stir motor
The system will be fed from 30A GFI breaker in the main panel

Process
- Heat strike water in the kettle
- pump to MT while adding grains
- heat sparge water in the kettle (to mash temp)
- recirc through a removable 1/2" tube coil in the kettle
- raise temp to mashout
- pump sparge water to the HLT
- pump sparge water to sparge arm (in MT) while gravity drain to kettle
- boil



Some of the choices I made were because I already have the watlow PIDs and power controller (gift from a guy in the industrial controls business), 24v power supply, 24v contactor, pump and stir motor. I would like to stay with the 240v 2-conductor line (dryer outlet) if possible, to save cost. However, I wasn't sure if this would work with the GFI - do you have to have a neutral to use the GFI? I mean the pigtail connects to the neutral in the main panel, but do I need to actually have a neutral running to my brew panel too? I was thinking that in a 2-pole setup it monitors the difference between the hots and ground or from hot to hot. Please correct me if I am wrong about this.

I guess one problem I already see is that the stir motor will not be GFI protected (because of the transformer). I could possibly skip this part and run a cord directly to a GFI outlet on the wall. I would appreciate any other thoughts you guys have.

__________________
aludwig is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-01-2011, 11:08 PM   #2
samc
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Portland OR
Posts: 5,420
Liked 54 Times on 51 Posts
Likes Given: 29

Default

I can't really answer your questions, not an electrician. But I do have some questions. Where is the ground? How are you going to run 120v motor from a 220v without a neutral? Edit - never mind the last comment I see the transformer.

__________________
samc is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-02-2011, 12:29 AM   #3
Inodoro_Pereyra
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 868
Liked 11 Times on 11 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

I agree with Samc on the stir motor. If it's a 120V motor, you should get rid of the transformer, and run it off one of the hot wires, and neutral. Adding a transformer doesn't give you any benefit, and just adds another piece of equipment that can fail, and an extra power loss (which means more mone on the electric bill) when it's working.

Other than that, I would put the yellow (heater) light right on the heater socket, so it shows when the heater is under power, not just the SSR.

__________________

A pessimist is a well informed optimist.

Inodoro_Pereyra is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-02-2011, 12:40 AM   #4
aludwig
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Warrenton, Virginia
Posts: 80
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts

Default

I left out the ground for simplicity. It will be there. The question really is, whether or not the neutral line is necessary, since I don't have one. The line is 2-conductor plus a ground (dryer outlet). The transformer is only needed because there is no neutral. I could re-run the line, and I may end up doing that, but I want to know if it is necessary.

__________________
aludwig is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-02-2011, 12:45 AM   #5
aludwig
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Warrenton, Virginia
Posts: 80
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts

Default

Also, I'm trying to source some cheap finger-safe options for the contact strips. Anyone have a line on something like that?

__________________
aludwig is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-02-2011, 01:17 AM   #6
Inodoro_Pereyra
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 868
Liked 11 Times on 11 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

Are you sure your outlet is 2 hots+ground, and not 2 hots+neutral? Don't quote me on this, but I remember reading, somewhere on this forum, that 3 wire 240V outlets were 2 hots+neutral...

Anyway, is not hat the neutral is "necessary", but, the way I see it, if you can run it (in case you don't already have it), it makes sense to do so. It's always good practice to keep the equipment down to a minimum.

__________________

A pessimist is a well informed optimist.

Inodoro_Pereyra is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-02-2011, 01:35 AM   #7
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,276
Liked 258 Times on 206 Posts
Likes Given: 450

Default

That is correct for dryer (30A) and range (50A) outlets prior to the last 2 major NEC updates. The neutral served the function of both the neutral and the ground conductor. The dryers and ranges both have 120V devices within them. Current code for new wiring to those appliances requires a 4 wire feed.

__________________
P-J is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-02-2011, 02:29 AM   #8
aludwig
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Warrenton, Virginia
Posts: 80
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts

Default

Thanks for the info. I just assumed it was a ground wire because it isn't insulated. Either way, I would not use it to pull off 120V with no separate ground. I am a fan of simple solutions. I think in this case I will run the correct wire to the dryer outlet and redraw the wiring diagram to use 4-wire.

__________________
aludwig is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-02-2011, 03:12 AM   #9
aludwig
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Warrenton, Virginia
Posts: 80
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts

Default

Modified to use a 4-wire feed:

__________________
aludwig is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-02-2011, 04:21 AM   #10
Inodoro_Pereyra
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 868
Liked 11 Times on 11 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

Looks good,
Can't believe I didn't realize you had wired your power supply on 240V in your first diagram... (where's a head slap smiley when you need it)

__________________

A pessimist is a well informed optimist.

Inodoro_Pereyra is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help w/ wiring (so I don't die) Twang Electric Brewing 10 04-15-2011 07:58 PM
Element Wiring McCuckerson Electric Brewing 13 03-10-2011 02:39 AM
Check my wiring? Palefire Electric Brewing 8 01-20-2011 03:13 AM
Wiring a Spa Disconnect Chefkeith Electric Brewing 5 12-11-2010 11:31 PM
Simple PID Wiring mcgeebc Electric Brewing 5 12-10-2010 09:06 PM