The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Am I just dumb???

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-28-2011, 06:02 AM   #1
djsethall
Registered User
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Olympia, WA
Posts: 3,431
Liked 14 Times on 12 Posts
Likes Given: 14

Default Am I just dumb???

OK, so I have successfully scorched three batches of brew through my rims tube. It is only when I try to bring the mlt temp up due to a miscalculation. I went to the big orange box store today and purchased a camco 4500 watt ulwd element. I tried the 5500 watt version first and burnt my first batch with it. Thats when I decided to try the 4500 watt version. I have seen model numbers for a 02923 element. I got this one back to m work and couldn't help looking at it. The model number opposite the voltage and wattage rating says "camco 02922". I tried googling this model number and can't find anything on it. It says Ultra Low Watt Density on the package, but I am a little hesitant cuz I dont want to scorch another batch and waste more grain. I am using a rims tube made out of stainless 1.5" pipe yada yada. Whats up with the model #???

__________________
djsethall is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-28-2011, 11:00 AM   #2
MalFet
/bɪər nərd/
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
 
MalFet's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: NYC / Kathmandu
Posts: 8,177
Liked 1216 Times on 804 Posts
Likes Given: 551

Default

Not sure about the model numbers, but if you are scorching so easily something else is wrong. Are you getting good, unrestricted flow?

__________________
MalFet is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-28-2011, 12:53 PM   #3
stlbeer
Senior Member
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
stlbeer's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Fenton, MO
Posts: 869
Liked 32 Times on 31 Posts
Likes Given: 81

Default

Are you getting a good reading with your temperature probe? Maybe there's a bubble in the RIMS tube preventing the wort from reaching the probe.

__________________
stlbeer is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-28-2011, 03:45 PM   #4
Malintent
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ceilin
Posts: 377
Liked 8 Times on 7 Posts
Likes Given: 5

Default

Take a look at my recent "rims tube heat issue" thread... I have a similar problem and I think it may be due to "dead space" in the tube... insufficient flow causing the liquid near the probe to not mix with liquid passing over the element.... Not sure yet, though.

__________________
Malintent is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-28-2011, 09:05 PM   #5
djsethall
Registered User
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Olympia, WA
Posts: 3,431
Liked 14 Times on 12 Posts
Likes Given: 14

Default

Just read your thread. It makes me wonder a bit about my setup. I will post a pic of what's going on on Thursday. Or if you look in my gallery, you can see my rims tube setup. I have it oriented vertical, not horizontal. One thing I did notice just prior to smelling the horrible smell of burnt wort was there was bubbles in the output line of my mlt. Could that have caused an air pocket in the rims tube that would lead to the scorching of the wort???

__________________
djsethall is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-05-2011, 03:00 PM   #6
mattmauriello
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Silver Spring MD
Posts: 77
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

are you using your rims tube for anything other than maintaining mash temps? I'm building mine now, and have yet to actually use it, but I'm only using a 1500W element, and I'm sure that is still plenty of power to bump the water a few degrees here and there. 4500W/5500W is great for boiling and HLT, but I would argue its overkill for a RIMS tube, and knocking it down to 1500 or similar might save you more headaches.

__________________

I'm not drunk, I'm just exhausted from stayin' up all night drinkin'! -- Peter Griffen

mattmauriello is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-07-2011, 08:16 PM   #7
audger
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: ., Connecticut
Posts: 1,497
Liked 40 Times on 40 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

indeed 4500+ watts is way overkill for simply maintaining temperature, if thats all its being used for. when power is applied, it takes some time to heat the liquid and register the temperature change on your controller. a 4.5kW element is going to cook the wort before that temp change is registered.

a smaller element would have less of a temp difference between the element and the temp sensor. using a smaller element also doesnt hammer your SSR as much with constant short on/offs because it can be left on for longer durrations, and theoretically you should be able to use a much tighter temperature hysterisis.

__________________
audger is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-07-2011, 11:14 PM   #8
Quaffer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Snohomish, WA
Posts: 488
Liked 24 Times on 15 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

I had the same model number issue with a 5500W element. This here is supposedly Camco 02963. I decided not to worry about it.



I have read here somewhere that you can limit the maximum power allowed by the PID (you are using a PID, right?). You could set it to lower than 100% and it will act like a lower power element. Use the shortest time interval of the PID.

__________________

Alcohol, the source of - and solution to - all of life’s problems. H.J.S.
My keezer, My E-brewery build thread, How I soldered 1" nut for heater

Quaffer is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-08-2011, 02:27 AM   #9
djsethall
Registered User
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Olympia, WA
Posts: 3,431
Liked 14 Times on 12 Posts
Likes Given: 14

Default

Yeah, I'm using the jld612 PID controller. I will reread the manual for power control. I find its when I try to do a small ramp up is when I get scorched wort.

__________________
djsethall is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Illuminated switches...(WARNING REALLY DUMB QUESTION AHEAD) JayInJersey Electric Brewing 10 11-01-2010 03:18 PM
Before I do something dumb torqueb Electric Brewing 1 10-14-2010 03:28 AM