Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > 60A Spa Panel Question

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-03-2011, 04:02 AM   #1
dtfeld
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: ATL, GA
Posts: 111
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default 60A Spa Panel Question

Purchased a 60A spa panel to supply GFCI protected power to my system. The ultimate plan is to run 6/3 to the control box and be capable of a back to back double brew day (start second mash once first batch is in the brew kettle) firing dual 5500W elements.

For now though, I only need 1 30A circuit. The box has the capability of adding either 2 single pole CB's or 1 double pole. Are these additional circuit breaker slots protected by the main 60A GFCI breaker??? Cant find documentation with the box.

In 110V household circuits, I recall that if the first receptical on the branch is GFCI, then the rest down line are procted as well.
Would the same apply to the spa panel?

If so, I have enough 10/3 to get me back up in running in my new location.

__________________
dtfeld is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-03-2011, 11:36 AM   #2
SOB
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Delaware, OH
Posts: 975
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts

Default

The GFCI only protects downstream. The additional spaces in the spa panel are connected to the main bus for the incoming power. If you add a single pole breaker and need it to be GFCI protected then you need to purchase a GFCI breaker.

__________________
"So we were slammin' beers in the church parking lot..."

"I'm much too young to feel this damn old"
SOB is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-03-2011, 12:27 PM   #3
dtfeld
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: ATL, GA
Posts: 111
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

After a little more reading I have to agree with the other slits are not protected. Guess I'm going to have to buck up for some 6/3.

__________________
dtfeld is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-03-2011, 04:44 PM   #4
Walker
I use secondaries. :p
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Walker's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 11,235
Liked 72 Times on 64 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Default

regarding 6/3 cable. Is your control panel ONLY 240V? No 120V items in it like a pump or anything?

__________________
Ground Fault Brewing Co.
Walker is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-03-2011, 06:27 PM   #5
kappajoe
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Montana
Posts: 119
Default

I would buy 6/4 wire.... give you more options with your control panel...

__________________
kappajoe is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-04-2011, 05:50 PM   #6
dtfeld
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: ATL, GA
Posts: 111
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

I should say 6/3 and 10/3 w ground, theres 4 wires in each.

__________________
dtfeld is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-05-2011, 02:39 PM   #7
TriangleIL
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Chicago
Posts: 267
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Isn't 4/3 w/ground necessary for 60amps? At least, that is what the guy at Home Depot told me :S

__________________
Primary: Empty
Secondary: Empty
Lagering: Helles Gutbier
Bottled: Empty
Kegged: Fox River Trail IPA, Pink Elephant Delerium Clone, Apricot Belgian Wit IV, So Kolsch, Belgian Slut IPA
On Deck: Apricot Belgian Wit V, Blueberry Sherry, Marzen, Noble Pils, Munich Helles

My Ditches Build
TriangleIL is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-06-2011, 01:16 AM   #8
Sparky
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Muir Beach, California
Posts: 289
Liked 8 Times on 7 Posts

Default

6 gage = 60amps
6/3 romex is (3) 6 gage wire (two hots, one neutral) with (1) ground wire

Are you running romex or (individual) stranded through conduit?

__________________
Sparky is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-06-2011, 05:48 PM   #9
dtfeld
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: ATL, GA
Posts: 111
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

6/3 romex purchased from HD online only $107 for 50' delivered to the door. Hell, the 50' of 10/3 is $94 in the store, so I think this is a good deal.

It is stranded 6 guage black/red/white, with a solid #10 bare ground.

this is "rated" at 55A, but I've been told you can round up to 60.

Here's the link.

http://www.homedepot.com/h_d1/N-5yc1v/R-202206572/h_d2/ProductDisplay?langId=-1&storeId=10051&catalogId=10053

Since 60A Levitron type connectors are scarce if not impossible to find, I'm planning on hard wiring into some 1in/4out power distribution blocks from Automation Direct to distribute to individual 30A 240V circuits for the Heaters and a separate 10 for everything else.

Currently working with a Siemens S7-1200 PLC with 8 RTD inputs for the control side.

__________________
dtfeld is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-06-2011, 06:17 PM   #10
Sparky
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Muir Beach, California
Posts: 289
Liked 8 Times on 7 Posts

Default

dtfeld,
That wire is good for 60amps. Since it is romex, you will be running in the walls/ceiling to the location?

You should be able to find some connectors for that size wire. But, my relay comes with big blocks for that size wire. But, sounds like you are branching off to other areas?

Pictures! Diagrams! More, more.


DO NOT run romex in conduit. This wire is meant for dry location!

__________________
Sparky is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BCS user control panel question bruin_ale Electric Brewing 35 03-15-2011 06:44 PM
Take a Look at my Breaker Panel... ScubaSteve Electric Brewing 21 02-08-2011 06:42 PM
Quick control panel wiring question ExHempKnight Electric Brewing 3 02-03-2011 03:03 AM
panel to spa panel wiring buffalobrewer Electric Brewing 4 11-28-2010 11:06 PM
Spa Panel $50 Scut_Monkey Electric Brewing 7 11-13-2010 09:48 PM