Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > 50amp GFCI Spa panel safe at well below 50amps?

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-23-2013, 04:49 PM   #11
dmcoates
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: soldotna, alaska
Posts: 149
Liked 5 Times on 2 Posts

Default

Ok guys thanks for the input. Sounds like I will be safe to use a 50 amp spa panel along with the breaker in the box? The main breaker will offer the Overload protection and the spa panel the gfci protection.

__________________
dmcoates is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-23-2013, 06:35 PM   #12
jCOSbrew
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 606
Liked 36 Times on 32 Posts
Likes Given: 7

Default

If you main panel has a 30amp breaker then you are OK with 10GA wiring.

Otherwise make sure that your power cord and other wiring from the spa panel to the brewery control panel are rated for 50 amps. The breaker is designed to protect the wiring. You don't want the wiring to act as a fuse (by using 30amp/10GA wiring and a 50 amp breaker)

__________________
jCOSbrew is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-03-2013, 01:35 PM   #13
Maltose
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Frederick, MD
Posts: 470
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

I also need some clarification regarding the spa panel and wire size.

I have a 50A spa panel feeding my control panel which will use one 5500W element at a time with one pump. I currently have a 10 gauge main power cord that I was going to use, but I am thinking now that since 50A is behind it, I should be using 6 gauge.

I've got a receptacle for my main power coming in that is rated for 30A. Should I get one that is rated for 50 instead?

Do I need a 30A breaker inside my main panel?

__________________
Maltose is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-03-2013, 01:53 PM   #14
jeffmeh
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
jeffmeh's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,805
Liked 131 Times on 112 Posts
Likes Given: 17

Default

As stated earlier, if you put a 30a breaker in the panel, and use the 50a spa panel for GFCI purposed, then your wiring and receptacles need to be rated for 30a. If you are only going to run one 5500w element at a time, that would be a good approach.

__________________
jeffmeh is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-03-2013, 02:54 PM   #15
Maltose
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Frederick, MD
Posts: 470
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffmeh View Post
As stated earlier, if you put a 30a breaker in the panel, and use the 50a spa panel for GFCI purposed, then your wiring and receptacles need to be rated for 30a. If you are only going to run one 5500w element at a time, that would be a good approach.
Just to make sure I have this right:

50A GFCI -> 30A Breaker (Both in the spa panel)

10 gauge wire to main receptacle on brewery control panel and 30A service throughout the brewery control panel.

I couldn't feed the main brewery control panel from the 50A GFCI THEN into a 30A breaker right?
--edit: If I did go this route, I'd do 6 gauge wire to a 50A receptacle on the brewery control panel, then into a 30A breaker.
__________________
Maltose is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-03-2013, 03:35 PM   #16
Broham1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 255
Liked 29 Times on 23 Posts

Default

A 50A GFCI in the spa panel doesn't mean you are running 50A service. The breaker at the main panel determines the service. What are you feeding the spa panel with at the main panel?

__________________
Broham1 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-03-2013, 03:41 PM   #17
Maltose
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Frederick, MD
Posts: 470
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Broham1 View Post
A 50A GFCI in the spa panel doesn't mean you are running 50A service. The breaker at the main panel determines the service. What are you feeding the spa panel with at the main panel?
60 Amps
__________________
Maltose is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-03-2013, 03:41 PM   #18
jeffmeh
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
jeffmeh's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,805
Liked 131 Times on 112 Posts
Likes Given: 17

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Maltose View Post
Just to make sure I have this right:

50A GFCI -> 30A Breaker (Both in the spa panel)

10 gauge wire to main receptacle on brewery control panel and 30A service throughout the brewery control panel.

I couldn't feed the main brewery control panel from the 50A GFCI THEN into a 30A breaker right?
--edit: If I did go this route, I'd do 6 gauge wire to a 50A receptacle on the brewery control panel, then into a 30A breaker.
What I was describing was a 30a breaker in your main house panel, with 10awg going to the 50a spa panel GFCI, and then to the control panel. Your 30a breaker is providing overcurrent protection and the 50a breaker is providing GFCI. You have a 30a feed.

If you wanted to run 50a to your control panel you would put a 50a breaker in the main house panel, with 6awg going to the 50a spa panel GFCI, and then to the control panel. You could then use breakers or fuses in the control panel if you wanted to be able to downsize the wiring, e.g. running 10awg to each element off of a 30a breaker.
__________________
jeffmeh is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-03-2013, 03:52 PM   #19
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,231
Liked 244 Times on 196 Posts
Likes Given: 430

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Maltose View Post
Just to make sure I have this right:

50A GFCI -> 30A Breaker (Both in the spa panel)

...
This will not work. The Spa Panel does have a 50A GFCI breaker in it. It also had room within the Spa Panel for an additional 30A breaker.

However: The GFCI breaker and the 30A breaker would be fed through the same input wiring going into the Spa Panel. In other words the GFCI does not and will not protect the added breaker.

Just check out your power feed to your brewery area. What size breaker in your mains panel is being used to protect the circuit and outlet that you intend to use? 30A? If so the circuit and power feeding your brew area is a 30A circuit.

At that point, the Spa Panel will only be providing GFCI protection.
__________________
P-J is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-03-2013, 03:52 PM   #20
Maltose
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Frederick, MD
Posts: 470
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

I guess my other option is to drop money on another GFCI breaker to put in my new spa panel. The panel is a Cutler-Hammer BR50SPA. I'm assuming I can get a 30 amp BR-style breaker and swap it?

__________________
Maltose is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need advice, panel not GFCI protected Dgonza9 Electric Brewing 25 01-31-2012 11:36 PM
will this GFCI panel work? NoCornOrRice Electric Brewing 4 01-12-2012 05:15 PM
Two 2000w on 120v 50amp Circuit? seatbelt123 Electric Brewing 13 01-10-2012 08:53 PM
GFCI 30 amp cords extinct? Question on GFCI breaker too... jdlev Electric Brewing 23 07-26-2011 01:01 AM
Panel GFCI Breaker IrregularPulse Electric Brewing 13 03-23-2011 08:43 PM