Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Last Sponsor Giveaway of the Year!

Come Enter the BrewDeals/FastFerment Giveaway!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > 4 wire conversion
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-06-2011, 05:12 PM   #11
WAdamC
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Roland, Iowa
Posts: 168
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

This is probably THE MOST to the point, informative, no nonsense thread I have read when it comes to an electrical question. I really want to go electric now. Make sure and post a follow up with pics!

__________________
WAdamC is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-06-2011, 07:04 PM   #12
Sparky
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Muir Beach, California
Posts: 291
Liked 8 Times on 7 Posts

Default

KJack,
Okay, back in action again.....

(1) I would prefer if you ground the main panel (same neutral/ground bar) and ran the ground wire to the sub in the garage (separate neutral/ground). Mainly since your kitchen circuits (that you rewired) are run to the main panel and should be grounded properly. BUT, you can ground just the garage panel, if it is easier. I like the fact that you are grounding that sub panel!

(2) 5' trench!? Wewww, don't kill yourself. 18" is fine, a little more is better. Or, you could join us for some of our projects (see picture below) and dig 40" down with sand, slurry, tracer tape, etc.!

(3) Is your current panel full? Based on your breaker layout, it could be what we call a 8/16 panel so 8 full breakers or 16 halfs. Take a picture and post and I'll check it out.

(4) I can do a load calc to see how you are coming out on loads. Per another post above, it is the loads that matter.

oh ya, and this is a general comment: DO NOT run romex through conduit!!!

img_1296.jpg

__________________
Sparky is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-06-2011, 07:57 PM   #13
kjackbrown
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Fresno, Ca.
Posts: 33
Default

Sorry for the late reply...I'll take a pic in a few...my son and I re going to take grandpa to lunch for his b-day.

__________________
kjackbrown is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-06-2011, 09:38 PM   #14
kjackbrown
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Fresno, Ca.
Posts: 33
Default 100a service



Left row (from top to bottom):
100a Main (this is a double pole kind but says 100a on only one of them, the other says nothing)
20a
50a (1st pole of a double pole breaker)
50a (2nd pole for the above breaker)
15a
20a
15a
15a
20a

Right row (from top to bottom)
40a (1st pole of a double pole breaker)
40a (2nd pole for the above breaker)
15a
20a
20a
20a (garage 115v supply)
30a (1st pole of a double pole breaker) (garage 240v supply)
30a (2nd pole for the above breaker) (garage 240v supply)
__________________
kjackbrown is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-06-2011, 09:58 PM   #15
Sparky
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Muir Beach, California
Posts: 291
Liked 8 Times on 7 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kjackbrown View Post

New question...
Could I take out the (GE) 30a and 20a breakers and put in one (GE) 60a breaker to supply the garage? Then replace all of the #10 and #14-ish stuff currently in the conduit with the 3 new #6 wires (with ground supplied from the rod by the garage)?

Then at the subpanel I would still use the two (HomeLine) 15a breakers for the current 110v needs (lighting and stuff). For the 240v dryer I would install a (HomeLine) double pole 30a breaker. Lastly, next to the subpanel I could install one of those 50a gfci spa panels, and from that a 50a outlet for the brewery. I know I probably wouldnt be able to run the dryer and brew at the same time...but that is not a problem.
Thanks for the picture and this sounds good. NOTE step 6.
(1) remove main GE 30amp and 20amp breakers to garage.
(2) install GE 60amp or 75amp breaker to garage
(3) feed 6 gage THWN wires (rated 75 amps) through existing pipe to garage. Ground per main or sub panel.
(4) install 12/24 circuit panel in garage. Either surface mount or recessed - depends upon your setup.
(5) in garage sub panel, install appropriate sized breakers for outlets and lighting. 20amp for 12 gage wire and 15 amp for 14 gage wire.
(6) FORGET the spa panel!
(7) install 50amp GFCI breaker in the garage sub-panel for your HERMS setup. Then you can have an outlet with cord to your HERMS or hard-wire the operation from the sub-panel.

Yes, you are approaching the load limit for the house. I don't think you will be running the AC, dryer, stove, and HERMS system at once. But, at least you will be protected on the branch circuits and main.
__________________
Sparky is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-06-2011, 10:23 PM   #16
kjackbrown
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Fresno, Ca.
Posts: 33
Default

Perfect...thank you!

__________________
kjackbrown is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
auber 2362 wire diagram shutupjojo Electric Brewing 5 02-14-2011 03:48 AM
2 Pole GFCI Breaker With 4 Wire Cord? ScubaSteve Electric Brewing 8 02-08-2011 07:37 PM
Question about stepping down wire size for PID HossTheGreat Electric Brewing 11 02-04-2011 05:15 PM
RTD extension wire Dave258 Electric Brewing 8 02-03-2011 12:06 PM
Dallas one wire and connector question EuBrew Electric Brewing 11 12-21-2010 07:56 PM



Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS