Last week to Enter the Spike Brewing 20 Gallon Sight Glass Kettle Giveaway!



Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > 4 wire to 3 wire 240v adapter cable?
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-06-2012, 06:11 PM   #1
DustBow
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Cincy, OH
Posts: 657
Liked 21 Times on 19 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default 4 wire to 3 wire 240v adapter cable?

I need a 240v 20 amp outlet for an induction cooktop.
I've already got 50' of 4-wire 10-gauge cable as my original plan called for a simple/standard 4 prong dyer outlet.
Is it OK to just install the 30 amp 4-wire dryer outlet and build an "adapter cord" to power the induction cooker?

My thinking is a 3-wire cable (hot hot ground) with the necessary 20amp 240v receptacle on one end, and then wire 3 of the 4 prongs of a dryer plug. The H-H-G prongs would be wired and the neutral prong would not, essentially just leaving the neutral isolated/unused in the dryer outlet.

Would this be ok?

I can go out and buy some 3-wire cable if necessary, I just thought it would be nice to use the cable I already have. Not to mention having the 30 amp 4 prong outlet already installed would be nice for flexibility down the road.

thanks for any help

__________________
"Brewers make wort, yeast make beer."

"Brewing beer is neither complicated nor expensive. It's the responsibility of the brewer to make it as complicated and expensive as their spouse & budget will allow."
DustBow is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-06-2012, 06:32 PM   #2
brewmastercontrols
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 123
Liked 11 Times on 9 Posts

Default

Assuming you did this correctly you would basically just drop the ability to use 120 Volt power. If you do not have your neutral you can not get 120 Volts in a safe method at the plug end. This may be OK if you plan to only use 240 Volts from it.

I do not follow your question amperage wise, just take a look at some of the online wire gauge guides to sort this out, there are quite a few out there.

Hope this helps

__________________
brewmastercontrols is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-06-2012, 06:49 PM   #3
DustBow
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Cincy, OH
Posts: 657
Liked 21 Times on 19 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

the plug on the cooktop is a NEMA 6-20 so I don't need the 120 service, right?

__________________
"Brewers make wort, yeast make beer."

"Brewing beer is neither complicated nor expensive. It's the responsibility of the brewer to make it as complicated and expensive as their spouse & budget will allow."
DustBow is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-06-2012, 11:17 PM   #4
garbageman
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Lexington, SC
Posts: 153
Liked 7 Times on 7 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DustBow View Post
the plug on the cooktop is a NEMA 6-20 so I don't need the 120 service, right?
If that's all your running, you are right. For size wire: Find a amp/wire gauge chart and see. It's not only the amp but the distance.
__________________

My Electric Brewery Picasa Web Albums
Ratebeer profile: Ratebeer.com

garbageman is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-06-2012, 11:20 PM   #5
brewmastercontrols
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 123
Liked 11 Times on 9 Posts

Default

I am not sure how your cook top operates.

If it only uses 240V you will be OK as long as the wires are connected correctly to each plug.

__________________
brewmastercontrols is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-07-2012, 01:22 AM   #6
whoaru99
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,611
Liked 126 Times on 103 Posts
Likes Given: 16

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DustBow View Post
My thinking is a 3-wire cable (hot hot ground) with the necessary 20amp 240v receptacle on one end, and then wire 3 of the 4 prongs of a dryer plug. The H-H-G prongs would be wired and the neutral prong would not, essentially just leaving the neutral isolated/unused in the dryer outlet.

Would this be ok?
Yeah, based on your indication the range top is 6-20.

Not sure about the cable...if it's meant for installed wiring, like "Romex", it may not be approved/listed for use as an extension cord.
__________________

Drinking: Russian Imperial Stout
Drinking: Pre-prohibition Lager
In-process: Another batch of Pre-prohibition Lager
Next up: Scottish Wee Heavy

whoaru99 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GFCI Protection 240V 3 Wire? awheeler Electric Brewing 79 06-01-2014 10:57 PM
240v 3 wire clarification garbageman Electric Brewing 14 11-22-2012 01:30 PM
4-wire GFCI 220 volt cable with a 3-wire dryer outlet? gshopper Electric Brewing 12 07-18-2012 12:49 AM
Two 50A GFCI over One 5 Wire 60A Cable? bendiy Electric Brewing 3 06-04-2012 05:37 PM
3 wire 240v receptacle in garage DPB Electric Brewing 29 03-21-2012 01:27 PM



Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS