Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Last Sponsor Giveaway of the Year!

Come Enter the BrewDeals/FastFerment Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > 3000 Watt Induction for the electrically challenged?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-02-2011, 01:36 PM   #1
ayoungrad
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 7 Times on 7 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default 3000 Watt Induction for the electrically challenged?

Has anyone tried something like the Max Burton 6530 ProChef 3000-Watt Commercial Induction Cooktop???

At 3000 Watts it sounds substantially more powerful than most available cooktops. But is it enough power for a rolling boil? I do mainly 5 gallon batches (currently utilizing 2 separate pots per batch) and I use stainless steel brewpots.

Right now I have a ceramic top electric stove which takes a very long time to reach boiling even for 3.5 gallons. I'm looking into cooktops because I have no knowledge or skills for DIY electrical projects with regard to heatsticks. I'm also trying to avoid buying a new brewpot but I've seen commercial varieties of heatsticks (midwest supply) that are slightly too long for my current brewpot. Also, I only have 110 volt outlets (I live in a highrise) and I'm not sure if it is important but ALL outlets in my kitchen are on the same fuse. Please excuse my ignorance, electrical issues are all new to me.

I guess my other concern is Maillard reactions. I know that currently my recipes result in darker than expected beers as a result of my electric stovetop setup. Would this be an issue with any of the above?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-02-2011, 02:39 PM   #2
MalFet
/bɪər nərd/
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 1267 Times on 844 Posts
Likes Given: 583